Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-15-2012, 10:13 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

Replacing thermostat for baseboard heaters


First off nothing is wrong with the current dial knob tstat but I am needing or wanting something more accurate and keeps a more constant temp. (5 degree drop between turn ons are getting old) I have three baseboard heaters hooked up to one tstat. Single stage, 4000 watts total. What do you all suggest and is it as simple as turning the power off and taking the old one off/putting the new one up just like the old? I considered calling an electrician because of a comment the electrician made when the house was built 5 years ago. He says that it takes a certain tstat not just any tstat. Also we have a 2 -1500 watt and a 1000 watt heater connected but only 1- 1500 and the 1000 watt heater come on at any given set temp and the 3 rd heater will join in when the tstat is set to a temp of 68 or above. It then will shut off before the other 2, it sure heats up the room really fast but I rarely set it that high because it heats up to 73 with the 5 degree variation. See my dilemma/concerns? Thank you!

Bchavez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 11:08 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,441
Default

Replacing thermostat for baseboard heaters


It depends if this is a line voltage stat or a low voltage stat.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 06:24 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,927
Default

Replacing thermostat for baseboard heaters


There is always a spread of a few degrees between when a thermostat turns on and when it turns off. Somehow I think that most models have a spread of more than three degrees.

Double pole thermostats (recommended so as to control both legs (supply and return if you insist) of 240 volt circuits, or alternatively used to control two circuits and therefore up to twice the wattage) often don't turn both poles on or off at (exactly) the same temperature. Usually they have calibrating screws so you can get it close.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AllanJ For This Useful Post:
NJMarine (12-16-2012)
Old 12-16-2012, 08:05 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Replacing thermostat for baseboard heaters


The model number of the unit is m600s.

It's set at 60 but it kicks on at 66 degrees and turns off at 70 or 71 degrees. I have a separate indoor/out thermometer so I know the inside temp since this wall mount is not accurate.
Bchavez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 08:10 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Replacing thermostat for baseboard heaters


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
It depends if this is a line voltage stat or a low voltage stat.
According to the model number it is a line voltage.
Bchavez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 08:21 AM   #6
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Replacing thermostat for baseboard heaters


There are a ton out there.

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=240V+programable+digital+t+stat
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 08:49 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,927
Default

Replacing thermostat for baseboard heaters


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bchavez View Post
It's set at 60 but it kicks on at 66 degrees and turns off at 70 or 71 degrees. I have a separate indoor/out thermometer so I know the inside temp since this wall mount is not accurate.
I'm pretty sure that all thermostats have some calibration adjustment inside.

__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about replacing line voltage thermostat thinksincode HVAC 5 01-12-2012 10:26 AM
Wiring a Line Voltage Thermostat for Fan Forced Heaters shumatec Electrical 7 11-10-2011 08:50 PM
replacing thermostat Pbutts29 HVAC 6 01-04-2011 03:28 PM
Newbie question - thermostat functioning and baseboard heaters keith-k HVAC 2 10-26-2010 09:20 AM
Replacing thermostat rjaxin HVAC 2 02-23-2010 01:20 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.