Replacing Switch, Ground Wire Exist But Is Not Used - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-19-2012, 01:19 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Lightbulb

replacing switch, ground wire exist but is not used


Hi, I hope this is a simple question. I am replacing a dimmer switch and when I pulled out the old switch I saw that the ground wire was not connected. There were two ground wires in the back of the box that were connected in a wire nut. When I put in the new switch I would like to ground it.
Question: Can I simply add the ground wire from the new switch to the two ground wires already in the nut?
Thanks!

Advertisement

keninnes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 02:00 AM   #2
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,110
Rewards Points: 500
Default

replacing switch, ground wire exist but is not used


Quote:
Originally Posted by keninnes
Hi, I hope this is a simple question. I am replacing a dimmer switch and when I pulled out the old switch I saw that the ground wire was not connected. There were two ground wires in the back of the box that were connected in a wire nut. When I put in the new switch I would like to ground it.
Question: Can I simply add the ground wire from the new switch to the two ground wires already in the nut?
Thanks!
Is the box your putting the new switch in metal?
If so,the grounds should be connected to the box.
You can then add a pig tail to the grounds you already have at the wire nut and connect it to the switch.
If the dimmer already has a ground coming of it ( green wire) just add it to the grounds already there.

Advertisement

sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sublime2 For This Useful Post:
keninnes (09-19-2012)
Reply

Tags
dimmer switch , ground wire


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing Chandelier Ground Wire Question dreamstwogo Electrical 1 06-07-2012 02:24 AM
Ground Location and Wire Size LHB_Texas Electrical 25 05-27-2011 10:38 AM
switch lacking ground wire anervoustwitch Electrical 17 02-27-2009 05:12 PM
Replacing a single switch with 3 way switch using old wiring chriscam75 Electrical 3 02-17-2009 09:15 PM
Ground rod or not? brotherman Electrical 30 07-15-2008 05:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts