Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-14-2012, 07:38 PM   #16
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Share |
Default

Replacing single pole light switches with double pole


removed until further clarification............


Last edited by k_buz; 04-14-2012 at 08:08 PM.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 07:39 PM   #17
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,779
Default

Replacing single pole light switches with double pole


I am curious as to where you could have possibly needed double-pole switches inside a home.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (04-14-2012)
Old 04-14-2012, 07:59 PM   #18
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,857
Default

Replacing single pole light switches with double pole


Double Pole Switch
The double pole switch also has "on" and "off" markings and functions similar to a single pole switch in that it turns something on and off from one location. However, because it has four brass terminals instead of two terminals it can handle switching two hot wires which allows it to switch a 240 volt circuit (or "220/221 whatever it takes..." if you're a Mr. Mom fan (1983)). The switch will also come with a ground terminal (green screw).So bottom line, double pole switches are typically used to switch receptacles and appliances using 240 volt circuits.

http://homerepair.about.com/od/elect...ch_types_3.htm

I really think that the OP may be talking about the following:
Electrical Wiring in the Home/Wiring a double switch

http://en.allexperts.com/q/Electrica...e-switch-1.htm
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?

Last edited by gregzoll; 04-14-2012 at 08:02 PM.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 08:03 PM   #19
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Replacing single pole light switches with double pole


Does the switch you are trying to replace look like this?



or


Last edited by k_buz; 04-14-2012 at 08:07 PM.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 08:12 PM   #20
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,377
Default

Replacing single pole light switches with double pole


The top picture is what I thought he was trying to use. Now I think he is trying to use either three way or four way switches in place of single switches.
Three way and four way switches can use in place of single way switches. You will just have some unused terminals.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 08:14 PM   #21
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Replacing single pole light switches with double pole


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
The top picture is what I thought he was trying to use. Now I think he is trying to use either three way or four way switches in place of single switches.
Three way and four way switches can use in place of single way switches. You will just have some unused terminals.
I was thinking he was using a TRUE 2 pole switch, switching the hot AND the neutral.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 09:13 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 8
Default

Replacing single pole light switches with double pole


Thanks everyone for their input. I'd like to try this approach.

Photo # 1: The existing switches and wiring. The first switch, from left to right, turns the overhead light on/off. The second swtich turns on the ceiling fan.

Photo # 2: The new switches I've bought. The first two, will replace the above two. The third switch on the right is a toggler/dimmer that I want to use to control a wall sconce that I will hook up later. Is it possible to use the current wiring set-up to hook up these switches and travel the current to all three switches? If so, could someone please post a wiring diagram I would use to hook up the three new switches. If not, please tell me exactly what I need to do to make this work.

I have no problem going back to the store to get single pole switches like the ones pictured in Photo # 1, or a 3-way switch if that's easier for the travelers.

Thanks everyone!
Bruce
Attached Thumbnails
Replacing single pole light switches with double pole-moody-wiring.jpg   Replacing single pole light switches with double pole-moody-wiring-2.jpg  
bruce54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 09:19 PM   #23
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

Replacing single pole light switches with double pole


You have switches that are used in 4-way circuits - three or more switched controlling one light. These are used in between two three way switches.
First of all, why do you feel you have to change the existing switches? They work.
Second, as already posted, you cannot power a new fixture from this location because you do not have a neutral line to connect to one side of the new light.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 09:23 PM   #24
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Replacing single pole light switches with double pole


I'm sorry to do this to you, but we need to see a picture of the box that this switch came in.

This is either a 2 pole switch or a 4 way switch.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 09:34 PM   #25
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Replacing single pole light switches with double pole


After further inspection of the pictures, these ARE 2 Pole switches. (note the "off" written on the toggle)

Now that we have cleared that up, I think it is time to call a local electrician to go over what you have already done. It is possible you are now switching neutrals. Since you stated that you have switched receptacles in the home, I would unplug all electronics until you can have this looked at by a professional.

I would have no idea why 2 pole switches were installed previously, unless you mistook a 4 way switch for a 2 pole switch, but switching neutrals can be dangerous to people and electronics.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (04-14-2012), Speedy Petey (04-14-2012)
Old 04-14-2012, 09:36 PM   #26
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

Replacing single pole light switches with double pole


On a second look, I think I see the word OFF on each switch toggle so that would mean these are two pole switches. They still won't solve your problem.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 09:38 PM   #27
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Replacing single pole light switches with double pole


Is there an echo in here?
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (04-14-2012)
Old 04-14-2012, 09:40 PM   #28
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,779
Default

Replacing single pole light switches with double pole


Quote:
Originally Posted by bruce54 View Post

Photo # 2: The new switches I've bought. The first two, will replace the above two.
WHY in the wide world of sports would you get two-pole switches to replace SP switches????

I agree with K_buz. It's time to call in an electrician. You are in over your head.
Even something as seemingly simple as replacing devices can be complicated, especially when you really don't know what you are doing.
FAR too many people downplay the importance of things like this.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (04-14-2012)
Old 04-14-2012, 09:45 PM   #29
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,857
Default

Replacing single pole light switches with double pole


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
WHY in the wide world of sports would you get two-pole switches to replace SP switches????
"Because it is safer when you do it that way, not the way that a real electrician would do it. It costs money you know."
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 10:11 PM   #30
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 8
Default

Replacing single pole light switches with double pole


OK, you guys are starting to lose me here. Again, as I originally stated, I picked up the 2-pole switches because all of the other switches I've replaced in the house (about 14 double sets) were 2-pole switches. I am changing the switches from the ivory color to bright white. True, I should have looked at the switches before I bought them. I know I can buy two white single pole switches and replace the two single pole ivory ones that are there right now. OK, everybody got that?

A couple folks have said that the wiring coming into the box needs to have a neutral wire in the bundle in order to safely hook up the two switches and have current travel to the dimmer toggle switch. Would everyone agree with that last statement, or not? If so, I will call an electrician and have them add the correct wiring to the new 3 gang box for what I'm trying to accomplish.

Thanks very much to all and good night.

Bruce

bruce54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
replacing light switches and plugs. whiterozez Electrical 9 03-31-2012 01:18 PM
Single Pole Illuminated Light Switch Scully Electrical 5 12-19-2011 09:41 PM
Replacing multi-use light switches jimclark Electrical 4 08-30-2011 02:05 PM
3-way and single pole switches doreian Electrical 2 08-23-2011 07:47 PM
Problem with 230 volt double pole single throw switch rdempsey Electrical 6 06-23-2011 09:51 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.