Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-25-2009, 04:27 PM   #1
Do work
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: NJ, USA, Earth
Posts: 144
Share |
Default

Replacing an oven install


I'm replacing an oven in my house. It's a built in double oven. Before I buy the new one I wanted to check the electrical connection. The existing connection is a 50 amp double breaker. I have 3 wires going to the oven. Both the neutral and the ground connect to the unshielded wire. Whirlpool says that the connection must be 30 or 40 amp and I can use 3 or 4 wire connection but I have 50 amp is that OK??

Models rated from 7.3 to 9.6 kW at 240 volts (5.5 to 7.2 kW
at 208 volts) require a separate 40-amp circuit. Models rated
at 7.2 kW and below at 240 volts (5.4 kW and below at

208 volts) require a separate 30-amp circuit.

Last edited by liquidvw; 06-25-2009 at 04:28 PM. Reason: typo
liquidvw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 04:39 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,476
Default

Replacing an oven install


You can leave the wire and just replace the breaker to a 40 amp breaker.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 10:59 AM   #3
Do work
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: NJ, USA, Earth
Posts: 144
Default

Replacing an oven install


A follow up question as I'm now just getting around do doing this project. The wire is 6 gauge AL. It was connected via wire nuts to my old oven. The new oven has a whip that is 10 gauge copper. I don't think these wire nuts will fit over both wires. With that said, is split bolts the best way to go. If so what's is the proper wrapping procedure and what type of tape?

Also, would Polaris connectors be a better choice?

Thanks in advance.

Dave

Last edited by liquidvw; 10-30-2009 at 11:20 AM.
liquidvw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 11:25 AM   #4
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,506
Default

Replacing an oven install


Are you sure it is Al? Older wire has a tinned surface that looks like Al, but if you look at the cut ends, you will see it is copper.
If it is Cu, I would use the large blue wirenuts.
If it is Al, you will need to use a connector that is approved for a Al-Cu splice, which may be a split-bolt or a set screw type connector.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 12:24 PM   #5
Do work
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: NJ, USA, Earth
Posts: 144
Default

Replacing an oven install


Im pretty sure its AL. The cut ends are AL and the wire says AL on it. The house was built in 1997. Thanks for the reply.
liquidvw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 07:12 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

Replacing an oven install


Blue wire nuts.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 07:36 PM   #7
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Replacing an oven install


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
Blue wire nuts.

For Alum to Alum connections ?

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 02:34 PM   #8
Do work
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: NJ, USA, Earth
Posts: 144
Default

Replacing an oven install


I ended up buying the polaris connectors. They were expensive but real easy to install.

http://www.polarisconnectors.com/370...L_EXTRA_IT.pdf
liquidvw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SCARY oven fire! Why did it burn? Beth777 Appliances 70 12-08-2013 09:49 PM
Oven Blew Up at Connector with Element cynthiap Appliances 5 11-26-2008 06:30 PM
Oven Building sinr98 Electrical 3 09-13-2008 11:43 PM
Gas oven does not work; pilot light on, stovetop works fine kathleentsy Appliances 1 05-22-2007 05:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.