Replacing An Outside Breaker Box - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-03-2012, 01:39 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

replacing an outside breaker box


hello; we live in a trailerhouse with our main breaker box on the electric pole about two feet under the metor box.. we need to replace the single line box with one that can handle up to four lines for our water well pump motor, our freezer and ac unit, and an outside plug in for an electric fence power box... what kind of breaker box do we need to get to replace the existing one?

Advertisement

jensage58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 06:52 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 3,118
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

replacing an outside breaker box


This sounds like a temporary electrical installation and probably should not be expanded. The panel should be inside. I recommend you consult an electrician.

Advertisement

Just Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 11:19 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

replacing an outside breaker box


Whats a "line"?
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 11:24 AM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,033
Rewards Points: 2,864
Default

replacing an outside breaker box


Sounds like it might just be a disconnect and the OP is looking for a small panel to feed several new circuits and the existing house panel.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 02:30 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

replacing an outside breaker box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Just Bill View Post
This sounds like a temporary electrical installation and probably should not be expanded. The panel should be inside. I recommend you consult an electrician.
We have a house breaker box .. INSIDE.. the one on the pole is a Main Breaker Box with one large breaker in it to shut power off to the Whole trailer... what we need is one with multi breakers for large appliances and our water well motor...
jensage58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 04:36 PM   #6
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 703
Rewards Points: 504
Default

replacing an outside breaker box


The best option would be a meter combo panel. Similar to this.

Advertisement

Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Outside breaker, inside main breaker panel, so is it a sub? CPF Electrical 29 02-01-2012 11:28 AM
replacing main breaker box rebelbull Electrical 8 01-18-2012 02:20 PM
Replacing two switches on one plate, each wired to a different breaker. bcainjr78 Electrical 4 10-11-2011 08:23 AM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 12:36 PM
small voltage on circuit with breaker off jasonmechler Electrical 3 08-24-2009 09:52 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts