Replacing Outlets: Pigtail, Or Don't Pigtail? - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-05-2009, 02:01 PM   #16
Res Ipsa Loquitur
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southeastern PA
Posts: 363
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Replacing outlets: Pigtail, or don't pigtail?


Can't speak of Leviton's GFCI's but I like the Cooper product line- in my area Lowes carries that brand, HD carries Leviton.

Advertisement

__________________
Did you ever stop to think, then forget to start again?
handyman78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 03:19 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Columbia Heights/NE Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 86
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Replacing outlets: Pigtail, or don't pigtail?


We have Lowe's and Home Depot in my area, and we also have Menard's, who carries Pass & Seymour.

After much DIY experimentation at my house and my dad's, I prefer the back-and-side wired, self grounding P&S "premium" receptacles. They are almost $2 each, but they're so much nicer than the 40 centers, and, I think, marginally nicer than the similarly priced "premium" receptacles from Leviton and Cooper.

Pass & Seymour GFCI outlets are also about 1/4 inch shallower than the Cooper and Leviton GFCIs. (But they are slightly wider; there's less room between the side terminals and the sides of the box before...oops!)
thegonagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 03:50 PM   #18
31b
sparky
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Bristol, PA
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Replacing outlets: Pigtail, or don't pigtail?


both methods are approved, but pigtailing is really the right way to do it. Back-stabbing is faster, and when you're doing hundreds of them, than time makes a difference to a big contractor.

If you're just doing a few for yourself, at your own home, then hands down I believe you should just pigtail it. but that's just my 2 cents...

Advertisement

31b is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 wire outlets: connect neutral to ground? border collie Electrical 19 04-12-2013 01:29 PM
outlets work, but barely (?) joeyboy Electrical 7 08-27-2008 09:37 AM
replacing old outlets and switches Nailpounder Electrical 7 04-28-2008 10:36 AM
Problem W/ Power after Switching Outlets... G19-Fanatic Electrical 17 08-28-2006 02:55 PM
Replacing light killed downstream outlets, totally stuck amissner Electrical 5 07-13-2006 07:02 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts