Replacing Outlet With 5 Wires - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-12-2010, 02:30 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Replacing outlet with 5 wires


I am trying to replace an old ugly electrical outlet. This outlet has 8 quickwire holes. I can't find any new outlets that have 8 holes. They all have 4. I believe this outlet is feeding an outside light that is on the other side of the wall (switch is above the outlet).

Here is a picture of the existing switch:
There are two whites, two blacks, and one red.




I have a new oultet with the 4 quickwire holes and 4 screws. How do I get this to work with the new outlet?

Do i just put the two white and blacks in the 4 quick connect holes, and put the red wire onto the hot screw?

Thanks

Advertisement


Last edited by PokerMunkee; 09-12-2010 at 02:39 PM.
PokerMunkee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010, 02:54 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,159
Rewards Points: 534
Default

Replacing outlet with 5 wires


DO NOT use the quick connects, they are famous for failing and then you may have bigger problems on your hand.

Take the wires from the plug and make a pigail on them and then take only one wire to the plug and go around the screw.

Advertisement

darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010, 03:19 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,051
Rewards Points: 504
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Replacing outlet with 5 wires


It appears this receptacle may be half switched (half the receptacle is hot all the time and the other half is switch controlled) . If so, you'll need to break the tab between the 2 gold screws.
Attached Images
 
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010, 04:07 PM   #4
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,159
Rewards Points: 534
Default

Replacing outlet with 5 wires


Good eye wire nut, i never even noticed that in the picture until i looked again.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010, 07:24 PM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Replacing outlet with 5 wires


The only replacement receptales I have see it before is Hubbel commercal / spec grade recepectales that have 8 holes but they are backwired with screw { not backstabbed type }

As long the box is not crowed you can make a pigtail for black conductors ditto with white conductors as well if you want to.

Before you do that make sure you break the tab on brass side only not the silver side leave that part alone.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing outlet recepticals texabama Electrical 12 08-13-2010 02:47 PM
melted wires on outlet bryan1282 Electrical 6 02-06-2010 07:46 PM
Outlet Wiring Question (Please Help!) joshg3p0 Electrical 34 02-05-2010 02:40 PM
No power in outlet sherben2 Electrical 16 03-19-2009 12:35 PM
replacing vanity light...issue with outlet box? tarheelblue Electrical 5 01-28-2008 10:20 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts