Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-03-2008, 02:25 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

replacing outlet with 3 white/3 black wires


I have an old outlet that has three black wires and three white wires, along with the grounding wire. Right now, 2 of the black wires go to the back of the outlet, while the other wire goes to the side and screws in. Same thing with the whites.

How do I replace this type of outlet? It's not working at the moment and I've been told to screw the wires directly into the side, but there is one too many wires. Do I pigtail all three wires and run one new wire to the side?

gpet573 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2008, 02:43 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Default

replacing outlet with 3 white/3 black wires


Do you know why it stopped working?

jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2008, 02:46 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,365
Default

replacing outlet with 3 white/3 black wires


Connect all three black and fourth short black wire(pigtail) with a wire nut. Then connect the pigtail to the gold screw. Do the same with the white wires only connect to the silver screw.
Or
Buy receptacles with back wire connectors. Those are the ones with a flat plate that clamps down on th wire when tightened. You can put two wires under each clamp, one on each side of the screw.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2008, 02:47 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4
Default

replacing outlet with 3 white/3 black wires


no - my cheap tester says "open neutral" and from reading through posts, i've been told that since I have an outlet that had the wires 'plug' into the back, a common fix is moving them to the side screws.
gpet573 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2008, 02:55 PM   #5
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Default

replacing outlet with 3 white/3 black wires


I'd suggest you tie all three phase conductors and all three neutrals together with two wire nuts (separately of course), and pigtail from each nut to the receptacle with one wire.

Then check to see if it still reads open neutral.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing faulty GFI in kitchen. Wires too short. ShawnMcCool Electrical 12 06-09-2008 08:41 PM
replacing vanity light...issue with outlet box? tarheelblue Electrical 5 01-28-2008 09:20 AM
Two black wires with one white! Please help! ibs325 Electrical 15 11-18-2007 09:38 PM
Wiring a switch, power from outlet Big Bill Electrical 4 09-15-2007 03:59 PM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 08:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.