Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-22-2011, 07:50 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 8
Share |
Default

Replacing old Vainty Light without an electric box - Safe? Doable?


We removed our old vanity light to find no electric box. The light I ordered requires a box. I'm wondering if I can install the bracket directly to the wall and not install a box?

I can definitely do it but I'm worried it's not safe? But our old light didn't have a box, so why not?

Installing a box is not something I cannot do myself. There were 2 holes in the wall when we removed the old light and I can see the stud but not sure if I could mount a box across the studs. Too advance I think for me.

2 pics attached the wall now and the new light.

Please help!
Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Replacing old Vainty Light without an electric box - Safe? Doable?-screen-shot-2011-12-22-8.47.44-pm.jpg   Replacing old Vainty Light without an electric box - Safe? Doable?-photo-2.jpg  
Dow61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 07:52 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 8
Default

Replacing old Vainty Light without an electric box - Safe? Doable?


last pic was upside down sorry
Attached Images
 
Dow61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 07:57 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,063
Default

Replacing old Vainty Light without an electric box - Safe? Doable?


You need to install a box to properly contain the splices between the cable and the fixture wires.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 08:00 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 8
Default

Replacing old Vainty Light without an electric box - Safe? Doable?


thanks for the quick reply.
any advise on how? I know it's a broad question, but any help is appreciated.
Dow61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 08:05 PM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,063
Default

Replacing old Vainty Light without an electric box - Safe? Doable?


You could cut out the drywall and install a wood brace and use a 1/2" deep pancake box. An old work box should also be able to support that fixture.

An old work box has swing-out wings that grab the back of the drywall.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 08:57 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,646
Default

Replacing old Vainty Light without an electric box - Safe? Doable?


I just replaced the light in my bathroom and had the same problem. I did what jim port suggested and put some plywood strips inside the wall and screwed a 1/2 inch pancake box to them.
DannyT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 09:41 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 8
Default

Replacing old Vainty Light without an electric box - Safe? Doable?


Is this the old work box Jim? http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1...atalogId=10053
Dow61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 09:45 PM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,476
Default

Replacing old Vainty Light without an electric box - Safe? Doable?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dow61 View Post
That is an old work box, but you want a round one.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 09:51 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 8
Default

Replacing old Vainty Light without an electric box - Safe? Doable?


Ok I'll use this one
http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1...atalogId=10053

And all I need is this? Right? Do I need to drill a place for the wires to go through it?

Thanks again!
Dow61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 09:54 PM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,476
Default

Replacing old Vainty Light without an electric box - Safe? Doable?


Thats the one, and it will have tabs that you place the wire into.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 09:55 PM   #11
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

Replacing old Vainty Light without an electric box - Safe? Doable?


I'll be the devils advocate.....are you sure the new fixture needs a box? Most do not, as the fixture enclosure satisfies the "connection within a box" qualification....I'm just sayin'
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 09:55 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 108
Default

Replacing old Vainty Light without an electric box - Safe? Doable?


Something else that may be of use.
It screws into the stud, I feel like it's much more secure then the drywall braces. Not to mention it's rated for a 70lb ceiling fan
http://www.aifittings.com/catalog/fa...ne-box/fbs1423
PLC has them, but they require a min $25 order
http://www.plccenter.com/Buy/ARLINGTON/FBS1423

This would allow you to center the box on the stud, it may or may not work for you depending up where your center point is.
http://www.platt.com/platt-electric-...px?zpid=164316

Good luck!
fuzzball03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 10:04 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 8
Default

Replacing old Vainty Light without an electric box - Safe? Doable?


@Missouri - I have no idea if it needs a box. In my 1st post I explain. Let me know your thoughts.
@fuzz - the stud is too far to the right at the hole on the right
@jbfan - great thanks!
Dow61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 10:19 PM   #14
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,926
Default

Replacing old Vainty Light without an electric box - Safe? Doable?


A Smart Box would work. Otherwise, since this is drywall, I would just remove a section install a regular box, then install a patch over, since that section that is there is already well torn up, and would take some effort to make it look somewhat decent with a patch, but it would not be perfect.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: So what'll happen?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 10:21 PM   #15
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

Replacing old Vainty Light without an electric box - Safe? Doable?


You mentioned the light you ordered....did you get it yet? Post a picture of the fixture if available. So many vanity lights are of the strip variety, with a metal can that fastenens to the wall, with a k/o for the wire. No box needed if that is the case.
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Attic - Replacing electrical - Positioning, how many boxes, checking understandings darlingm Electrical 12 12-04-2011 11:17 PM
Replacing Ceiling Fan without light w/ fan + light BSponz1 Electrical 7 01-30-2011 04:57 AM
Replacing a 30" Electric Drop-in Range SLC3271 Appliances 4 12-09-2010 02:35 PM
Please Help! 3 way switches controling 2 light fxtures. HelloMotto Electrical 50 09-01-2009 08:20 PM
Replacing a Water Heater with Electric One 2031pratt Plumbing 3 12-26-2008 09:17 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.