Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-25-2011, 05:29 PM   #1
Busy DIYer
 
picflight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 234
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Question

Replacing old receptacle (PICS)


Double gang with receptacle and switch that controls a light. I want to replace the receptacle, not sure how to wire.

The box has red, white and black coming into it. The red is passing through the switch.
On the receptacle the wires are going into holes on the back rather than secured to the side screws.

Can I remove the red, white and black from behind the receptacle and secure it to the new receptacle on the screws? Red and black on the hot side and white on the bottom neutral side? This will leave one neutral screw empty.




picflight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 05:33 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Replacing old receptacle (PICS)


If all you are doing is replacing the receptacle then just wire it back the way it was. Or am I missing something?

With the red and black on one side that suggests half of it is switched. If this is so then be sure to break the tab between the two brass screws.

Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 05:39 PM   #3
Busy DIYer
 
picflight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 234
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Replacing old receptacle (PICS)


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
If all you are doing is replacing the receptacle then just wire it back the way it was. Or am I missing something?

With the red and black on one side that suggests half of it is switched. If this is so then be sure to break the tab between the two brass screws.
If I break the tab on the brass side, the red won't have power?
picflight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 06:26 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 218
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Replacing old receptacle (PICS)


Quote:
Originally Posted by picflight

If I break the tab on the brass side, the red won't have power?
Maybe you aren't explaining something properly. You said you have a black and a red on the brass side. This indicates a split recep. Both black and red are hot. One recept is constant, while the other is switch controlled
Sunny B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 09:01 PM   #5
Busy DIYer
 
picflight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 234
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Replacing old receptacle (PICS)


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunny B. View Post
Maybe you aren't explaining something properly. You said you have a black and a red on the brass side. This indicates a split recep. Both black and red are hot. One recept is constant, while the other is switch controlled
No, I said I have black, red and white sticking in holes in the back. As for explanation, I have picture and wiring diagram. What do you think is missing?
picflight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 09:13 PM   #6
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,627
Rewards Points: 8
Default

Replacing old receptacle (PICS)


By your drawing---the power is simply a carry through to the switch---so no need to remove the tab.

Remove the tape on the old recepticle--make sure the tab is om the old one---
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 09:21 PM   #7
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,142
Rewards Points: 38
Default

Replacing old receptacle (PICS)


Picflight, holy schnikies. Can you make that picture any more of a macro zoom. Maybe 3240x3240 would be better helpful to the rest of us with failing eyesight.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 09:56 PM   #8
Busy DIYer
 
picflight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 234
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Replacing old receptacle (PICS)


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll
Picflight, holy schnikies. Can you make that picture any more of a macro zoom. Maybe 3240x3240 would be better helpful to the rest of us with failing eyesight.
Greg, I try to make the pics easy for mobile and aol users to download while trying to keep a decent size. I guess I did not do a good job on the latter. Next post, you will see the full size :-)
picflight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 10:20 PM   #9
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,142
Rewards Points: 38
Default

Replacing old receptacle (PICS)


It is just that it blows out the browser, when it is larger than expected. It would be nice if they would set up the board, so that it resized the photos, so that they did not blow out. BTW, who ever last did that outlet, wasted the electrical tape. I would not doubt that they did the same with the rest of the outlets in the house. Good insurance, but not needed.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 11:22 PM   #10
Busy DIYer
 
picflight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 234
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Replacing old receptacle (PICS)


The outlets I have opened up so far, none had the tape, this is the first I have seen. This from a mid-fifties home.
picflight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 11:45 PM   #11
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,142
Rewards Points: 38
Default

Replacing old receptacle (PICS)


picflight, it was not backstab btw (ie wires inserted in the holes on the back, vs. properly secured around the screws).
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2011, 03:04 AM   #12
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Replacing old receptacle (PICS)


I would suggest that you turn the circuit off compelty and pull that tape off and actually see how it hook up to be on safe side and do not take any wires off at the moment until you see the screw colour and the bridge tab[s] is there or been removed.


Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2011, 07:17 AM   #13
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Replacing old receptacle (PICS)


The OP is saying the switch controls a light. My guess is the black is the feed and the red is the switch leg, power originating at the light box. If that’s the case, leave the bridge tab on the receptacle. Yes, you can use the screws on the new receptacle, they’ll provide a better connection. Yes, black and the red jumper wire on the ‘hot’ side of the receptacle, bridge tab left intact, white on the neutral side. Red jumper to the switch to power it. What I don’t see in the picture is ground wire jumpers from the receptacle and switch to the box.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2011, 03:58 PM   #14
Busy DIYer
 
picflight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 234
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Replacing old receptacle (PICS)


Greg, yes the wires are inserted in the holes and not screwed.

Sd, your review sums up how it is currently wired and how I am thinking of wiring the new receptacle. So it is ok to have one white & black screwed on the lower and the red on the brass side going through the switch?
picflight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 07:05 AM   #15
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Replacing old receptacle (PICS)


Yes, upper or lower, doesn't matter as long as the bridge tabs are intact. White on a silver screw, black and the red jumper on a brass screw of their own. The red jumper is suppying power to the switch.

__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to SD515 For This Useful Post:
picflight (10-28-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trouble replacing a switch / outlet receptacle. Hey BC Electrical 1 05-24-2011 05:40 PM
Replacing receptacle with GFCI wiring problem braden Electrical 8 04-06-2011 08:32 AM
Help? Motion Sensor receptacle wtu007 Electrical 5 10-12-2009 12:33 PM
Lightswitch No Longer controls Receptacle After Changing It earthad1 Electrical 20 07-30-2009 06:25 PM
replacing an old Electrical receptacle djtjak43 Electrical 3 08-28-2008 07:46 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.