Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-19-2009, 01:40 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 11
Share |
Default

Replacing and Moving a Fuse box with a breaker box


Hello everyone,

I hope I can get some guidance in the replacement of old fuse box with a breaker box and at the same time moving it to another location. I created a diagram of the current wiring scheme. It is as follows:



I have 3 questions, as follows:

1. How many grounding rods do I need and where?
2. Is the location of the new breaker box ok where is located?
3. Do I have to run the service wire(it looks old) from the meter to the breaker box inside conduit?

(Pictures of electrical panel boxes and meter at the end)

Q1. comments

After reading posts regarding grounding, I realized that the ground has to be connected very close to where the water service pipe comes in from the street. However, my ground is a long distance away from that point(check diagram) and there is no grounding rod anywhere. So, how many ground rods do I need to install for the new breaker box and where should they be installed(e.g. inside the basement or outside near the meter).

Q2. comments

I installed the new breaker box on the same wall where the meter is located. The meter is outside and the breaker box is inside in the basement approximately 10" below the meter box level as indicated by the diagram side view.

Q3. Comments

Do I need to run the service wire coming out of the meter and into the new breaker panel box inside conduit or can I just run it as it is now. The reason I ask is because the wire itself looks very old and I am afraid my neighbors kids might hit it with something and get electrocuted.

METER


OLD PANEL


NEW PANEL

nightrook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2009, 06:55 PM   #2
Floor Sweeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central MN
Posts: 353
Default

Replacing and Moving a Fuse box with a breaker box


Quote:
Originally Posted by nightrook View Post
1. How many grounding rods do I need and where?
Install two 8 foot rods no less than 6' apart. Connect them together with #6 copper wire and the approved direct bury acorn clamps. You will still need to bond to your water main, if metallic, within 5' of the entry. The code says that you need to bond to all available electrodes. If the water pipe is there, you need to use it. Use #6 going to that too.


Quote:
Originally Posted by nightrook View Post
2. Is the location of the new breaker box ok where is located?
Yes. It's fine. As long as you are able to meet the clearance requirements and there are no foreign systems in the way. (Appliances, water piping, sump pits, etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nightrook View Post
3. Do I have to run the service wire(it looks old) from the meter to the breaker box inside conduit?
You will need to check your local code regarding use of SE cable. There are some areas that do not use it anymore. Sometimes, It depends on the utility company's rules. Other times an area adds amendments to the NEC. Should you be able to use SE cable, I would simply replace the section from the meter socket to the new panel with new stuff. If you can only use conduit, you will probably need to replace the whole service. Check with your inspector.

junkcollector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2009, 08:14 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 11
Default

Replacing and Moving a Fuse box with a breaker box


Thank you very much sir. Do the rods need to be inside or outside?

You mentioned that the water also needs to be bonded, but the water entry is over 20 feet away. Do I just run a cable over to that point or can I just connect to a half inch copper that is about 10 feet away?
nightrook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2009, 09:37 PM   #4
Floor Sweeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central MN
Posts: 353
Default

Replacing and Moving a Fuse box with a breaker box


Quote:
Originally Posted by nightrook View Post
Do the rods need to be inside or outside?
Could be either, but good luck pounding an 8' rod in the basement, even if you have an 8' ceiling...See a problem?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nightrook View Post
You mentioned that the water also needs to be bonded, but the water entry is over 20 feet away. Do I just run a cable over to that point or can I just connect to a half inch copper that is about 10 feet away?
No, it has to get connected within 5' of the entry. Buy two clamps, and bond it on the street side of the meter, and the house side. (run the conductor continuous from one clamp through to the other)

Let me know how it turns out...
junkcollector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2009, 11:38 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 11
Default

Replacing and Moving a Fuse box with a breaker box


Thank you very much sir. Just two more questions. Look at the diagram below, the green line represents the #6 wire with one clamp at each end.

Should the wire attach to the meter or the box because the meter has no pipe to put clamp on?

Should I run the wire in conduit or does it matter?

nightrook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 11:01 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Replacing and Moving a Fuse box with a breaker box


We need a sticky thread on how to size a picture to fit in this format. This horizontal scrolling gets old real fast.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 01:14 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 11
Default

Replacing and Moving a Fuse box with a breaker box


Sorry. I just resized the images so there won't be any need to scroll.
nightrook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 02:30 PM   #8
Floor Sweeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central MN
Posts: 353
Default

Replacing and Moving a Fuse box with a breaker box


Quote:
Originally Posted by nightrook View Post
Look at the diagram below, the green line represents the #6 wire with one clamp at each end.

Should the wire attach to the meter or the box because the meter has no pipe to put clamp on?
Just run a #6 from the ground rods, and one from the water main. Run them into the main panel and connect them to the neutral bus bar. If you haven't done it yet, Install the Green bonding jumper screw that came with your panel.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nightrook View Post
Should I run the wire in conduit or does it matter?
The #6 GEC can run without protection through your basement. It is your call on the outside where the conductor leaves the building and attaches to the ground rod(s).
junkcollector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 03:12 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 11
Default

Replacing and Moving a Fuse box with a breaker box


Thank you very much for the help. I will be doing the work this week hopefully. I will post the results with pics of what I did. Thank you again.
nightrook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 11:11 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 11
Default

Replacing and Moving a Fuse box with a breaker box


As I search for the items I need, I find myself not knowing what type of wire I need, stranded or solid? Does it matter what type of wire I use for my grounds.
nightrook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 12:01 PM   #11
Floor Sweeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central MN
Posts: 353
Default

Replacing and Moving a Fuse box with a breaker box


Quote:
Originally Posted by nightrook View Post
As I search for the items I need, I find myself not knowing what type of wire I need, stranded or solid?
Wire above #10 is normally stranded. Wire for what portion of your project?


Quote:
Originally Posted by nightrook View Post
Does it matter what type of wire I use for my grounds.
You can either use stranded # 6 AWG or Solid AWG.
junkcollector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 01:25 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 11
Default

Replacing and Moving a Fuse box with a breaker box


Thank you for the answer. It was the ground wire that I was asking about, the #6 gauge wire. Thank you again and sorry to be bugging you so much.
nightrook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2009, 09:35 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 11
Default

Replacing and Moving a Fuse box with a breaker box


Hey Junkcollector, can I install the ground rods about 12ft away from the box. I have concrete sidewalk and the closest dirt exposed is about 12 feet away.
nightrook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2009, 08:45 AM   #14
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,324
Default

Replacing and Moving a Fuse box with a breaker box


Your duct work should not be under the panel. The space should not have foreign systems like plumbing and ductwork in it.

Workspace for the panel should be 30" wide and 36" deep and clear floor to ceiling. The 30" does not need to center on the panel.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2009, 06:16 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 11
Default

Replacing and Moving a Fuse box with a breaker box


Hey Junkcollector, can I install the ground rods about 12ft away from the box. I have concrete sidewalk and the closest dirt exposed is about 12 feet away.

nightrook is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing Double-Pane Windows RSJ0316 General DIY Discussions 1 09-16-2009 07:31 AM
Oversized Breaker djdragan Electrical 28 09-03-2009 01:09 PM
Alternative to replacing appliances neondanger Appliances 1 06-27-2009 10:01 PM
Portable breaker panel? minameismud Electrical 15 02-24-2008 12:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.