Replacing Metal Box Caused Issues - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-04-2011, 02:35 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Replacing metal box caused issues

Good afternoon,
I am looking for help with a problem as I am a total newbie to electrical projects.

Here is the scenario: I had an existing metal box which has metal conduit attached to it from bottom and top. Bottom contains the hot wire which then feeds recessed lights on top.
I replaced the existing wall switch with a new timer and found that it would not fit in the existing metal box. I bought a deeper plastic box and replaced the metal box with it. After this, the recessed lights did not turn on. I noticed that my "pen" voltage tester now detects current throughout the metal conduit leading up to the recessed lights. I am assuming that by removing the metal box, I have a ground problem?
Inside the metal conduit there is only the hot wire and the neutral but no ground.

Any clues on what is going on?

Thanks,
Angel

Advertisement

rivers001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 03:22 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 250

By removing the metal box you have likely removed the ground path. That should not have any affect on the operation of the circuit. A ground is used as a separate path back to the panel should a fault occur within the circuit. Don't rely on those non contact voltage testers they sometimes pick up stray current and give false readings. I would start by removing the timer switch that you installed and test for voltage at the hot wires with either a neon type tester or a volt meter. also you should replace that plastic box with a metal one to restore the ground.

Advertisement

teamo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 03:39 PM   #3