Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-28-2010, 12:03 PM   #1
wanabie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 9
Share |
Default

replacing light switches


I have a box in the kitchen that has 4 switches in it. two of them were bad so I replaced them all.
The old ones did not have a ground wire running to them, so I added one, and grounded them to the box. Is this ok?

Also, before hooking up the ground wire, I turned the breaker on to see if all lights worked, all was good. Then I connected the ground, and stuffed everything back in the box, and tried all switches again. One of them popped and flashed, and blew the breaker when I turned it on. I then turned everything off, reset the breaker, and tried again. It worked about 5 minutes, popped/flashed and blew the breaker again.

I then pulled the switch out of the box moved some wire around and put it back in, and now it seems to be fine. Everything works.

My Questions are...What caused that pop/flash? And, Do I need to be worried about fire in my walls once I leave for work?

Thanks

Nailpounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2010, 01:23 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,695
Default

replacing light switches


The pop and flash was the ground wire hitting a hot wire.
When you took the switch out and moved it around, you broke the connection between the hot and ground.
If it has not tripped agin, you should be fine.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 09:37 AM   #3
wanabie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 9
Default

replacing light switches


Thanks, That is what my dad said, but he is kind of a hack sometimes.
I wanted to hear it from someone else too.
Thanks again
Nailpounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring diagram for three-way switches with pilot light SaxTeacher Electrical 34 09-15-2013 07:53 AM
Replacing bathroom vanity light bar AnnieO Electrical 2 07-28-2010 08:52 PM
light switches Petrafire Electrical 2 07-12-2010 01:13 PM
replacing existing light with can light? mferguson0414 Electrical 5 01-23-2009 07:45 AM
light switches wired in series -- why? magnolia Electrical 2 05-11-2008 11:16 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.