Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-13-2012, 09:54 PM   #31
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Southeast Connecticut
Posts: 16
Share |
Default

Replacing Light Fixture with No Ground Wire in Home


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post

As a side note, as long as the AC type wire contains a bonding strip, then you already have a grounding conductor. So most of this conversation is a moot point.
Wow, this sure had been a lively discussion. I want to make sure I'm clear on what I should do, though. Even though stickboy was right regarding interpretation of the code, it looks like I don't need to add the breaker based on the comment above.

Sorry if this sounds like I've asked the same question a hundred times, but can someone confirm that I'll be ok just installing the chandelier?

@electures, this is the main panel, not a subpanel.

panorama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 10:00 PM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 978
Default

Replacing Light Fixture with No Ground Wire in Home


I believe you have yet to confirm the presence of AC cable with bonding strip, in order to get a good answer.

I give this thread 3 1/2 stars. The plot was good, but somewhat predictable, given the cast.
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jlmran For This Useful Post:
electures (09-17-2012), jbfan (09-14-2012)
Old 09-13-2012, 10:20 PM   #33
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,662
Default

Replacing Light Fixture with No Ground Wire in Home


Quote:
Originally Posted by panorama

Wow, this sure had been a lively discussion. I want to make sure I'm clear on what I should do, though. Even though stickboy was right regarding interpretation of the code, it looks like I don't need to add the breaker based on the comment above.

Sorry if this sounds like I've asked the same question a hundred times, but can someone confirm that I'll be ok just installing the chandelier?

@electures, this is the main panel, not a subpanel.
Side note to your original post. You need a main breaker. Also,please verify whether or not the wiring to the light is AC?
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.

Last edited by electures; 09-14-2012 at 08:49 AM.
electures is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 07:29 AM   #34
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Southeast Connecticut
Posts: 16
Default

Replacing Light Fixture with No Ground Wire in Home


Quote:
Originally Posted by electures View Post
Side note to your original post. You need a main breaker. Also,please verify whether or not the wiring to the light is BC?

Is it possible that my main breaker is outside the house (single family home) by the meter?

To be honest, I don't know how to tell if the wiring is BC or if I have an AC cable with bonding strip. I have to refer to Google just to understand the questions.

If you can't tell my level of electrical knowledge is very basic. I'm trying to learn as I go along, but I'm starting to think it may be worthwhile for me to have a licensed electrician come out and personally take a look at my set up.
panorama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 07:34 AM   #35
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,972
Default

Replacing Light Fixture with No Ground Wire in Home


Yes, you will be okay installing it. Could have had it done and probably would have been better to not ask regarding, since now you see how ugly these things get. Hundreds if not thousands of fixtures are working properly without a gfci being inline, and nothing has happened.

If you want that warm fuzzy feeling, install the gfci, but not required, and you are not going to get in trouble not using it.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 07:44 AM   #36
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 978
Default

Replacing Light Fixture with No Ground Wire in Home


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll
Hundreds if not thousands of fixtures are working properly without a gfci being inline, and nothing has happened.
That logic is as dumb as saying all the air-bags and seatbelts in all the uncrashed cars of the world are useless.
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to jlmran For This Useful Post:
electures (09-14-2012), jbfan (09-14-2012), stickboy1375 (09-14-2012)
Old 09-14-2012, 08:31 AM   #37
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

Replacing Light Fixture with No Ground Wire in Home


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Yes, you will be okay installing it. Could have had it done and probably would have been better to not ask regarding, since now you see how ugly these things get. Hundreds if not thousands of fixtures are working properly without a gfci being inline, and nothing has happened.

If you want that warm fuzzy feeling, install the gfci, but not required, and you are not going to get in trouble not using it.
Greg, Stickboy never said that GFCI was required, he said that it was one option.

The OP has 3 choices.

1. Verify that a grounding method, ie AC, exists.

2. Run a grounding wire/conductor.

3. GFCI protect the circuit.

That is pretty much it. Period.

We have not even discussed the fact that most, if not all, new fixtures require 90C rated insulated wires and that a house wired in 1965 probably does not have them.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Code05 For This Useful Post:
electures (09-14-2012), stickboy1375 (09-14-2012)
Old 09-14-2012, 08:38 AM   #38
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Southeast Connecticut
Posts: 16
Default

Replacing Light Fixture with No Ground Wire in Home


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
We have not even discussed the fact that most, if not all, new fixtures require 90C rated insulated wires and that a house wired in 1965 probably does not have them.

Is 9:30 am too early for a drink?
panorama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 08:45 AM   #39
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

Replacing Light Fixture with No Ground Wire in Home


Quote:
Originally Posted by panorama View Post
Is 9:30 am too early for a drink?
I had a feeling that you would not like that insulation part.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 08:45 AM   #40
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,662
Default

Replacing Light Fixture with No Ground Wire in Home


Quote:
Originally Posted by panorama View Post
Is it possible that my main breaker is outside the house (single family home) by the meter?

To be honest, I don't know how to tell if the wiring is BC or if I have an AC cable with bonding strip. I have to refer to Google just to understand the questions.

If you can't tell my level of electrical knowledge is very basic. I'm trying to learn as I go along, but I'm starting to think it may be worthwhile for me to have a licensed electrician come out and personally take a look at my set up.
Do you have just a meter socket or is there another box attached to it? Also, post another picture of the meter enclosure and its surroundings, and another picture of the panel showing the wiring entering the box.

As for Gregs post, again he is wrong. The fixture is required to be grounded or GFI protected. Unlike him, I posted the actual NEC requirements not the narrative from the handbook (which is not code).
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 09:09 AM   #41
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Southeast Connecticut
Posts: 16
Default

Replacing Light Fixture with No Ground Wire in Home


Quote:
Originally Posted by electures View Post
Do you have just a meter socket or is there another box attached to it? Also, post another picture of the meter enclosure and its surroundings, and another picture of the panel showing the wiring entering the box.).
I'm not sure if there's another box by the meter. I'll check when I get home and will take some photos. Are you asking for two photos of the meter area (outdoors) and one photo of the electrical panel (breaker box -indoors)? There's only drywall around the electrical panel/breaker box, so nothing more to see...I'm guessing you're referring to something else?

Quote:
Originally Posted by electures View Post
As for Gregs post, again he is wrong. The fixture is required to be grounded or GFI protected. Unlike him, I posted the actual NEC requirements not the narrative from the handbook (which is not code).
I get that now. Thanks.
panorama is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to panorama For This Useful Post:
electures (09-14-2012)
Old 09-14-2012, 09:31 AM   #42
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,662
Default

Replacing Light Fixture with No Ground Wire in Home


Quote:
Originally Posted by panorama View Post
I'm not sure if there's another box by the meter. I'll check when I get home and will take some photos. Are you asking for two photos of the meter area (outdoors) and one photo of the electrical panel (breaker box -indoors)? There's only drywall around the electrical panel/breaker box, so nothing more to see...I'm guessing you're referring to something else?



I get that now. Thanks.
Yes, two pictures. If the picture doesn't show the cabling entering the panel, try and get a picture zoomed in of the connectors in the bottom of the box.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 09:35 AM   #43
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,662
Default

Replacing Light Fixture with No Ground Wire in Home


Quote:
Originally Posted by panorama View Post
Is 9:30 am too early for a drink?
Hang in there. We will help you and you will get the correct information. But as you can see, we have a few amatures without a clue and too many new visitors associate post count with actual knowledge and experience.

__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
replacing ceiling fixture - hole in ceiling with wire hanging out sunshine1221 Electrical 4 08-20-2012 09:53 AM
50 Amps for a garage help IcyShadowz Electrical 48 05-31-2012 10:58 PM
Light switch - Taping into ground wire ok? SimpleJack Electrical 2 08-15-2011 07:04 AM
Ground vs. Neutral wire - bathroom fixture Narwal Electrical 4 08-14-2011 08:27 PM
Light fixture needs a ground wire PRedLSU Electrical 4 05-23-2010 09:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.