Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-19-2007, 08:54 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,796
Rewards Points: 1,018
Default

Replacing HVAC Thermostats


I bought 2 thermostats and will be replacing the old one which does not have a screen. I saw on the back of the package where they recommend shutting the power off before replacing. There are 4 leads coming to the thermostat. Which ones need to be measured to make sure it's safe?

handy man88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 12:41 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Replacing HVAC Thermostats


Turn off the main breaker for the AC. This is low voltage at the thermostat. But it is possible to fry the circuitry if you were to short out your new electronic T stats while connecting the wires.
Don't take a chance. kill power to the ac.

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 12:48 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,796
Rewards Points: 1,018
Default

Replacing HVAC Thermostats


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
Turn off the main breaker for the AC. This is low voltage at the thermostat. But it is possible to fry the circuitry if you were to short out your new electronic T stats while connecting the wires.
Don't take a chance. kill power to the ac.
Thanks for the advice. Very much appreciated.
handy man88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 12:58 PM   #4
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Replacing HVAC Thermostats


also let me add one or two comments.,,

make sure the furance/ air handler power is off as well.

when you replace old thermostat with new thermost just make a note how it connected follow the colour codes with the relalted lettering sometime it will have slightly diffrent lettering.

if any chance the old thermost did not have any marking the sure fire tip is check the furance/ air handler contol panel and see how it termated there so it should pretty much line up the same.

the reason why i mention that because not always be the case with colour code sometime one of the wire is broken or something else screw up and have to use other spare wire.

Merci , Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 02:43 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,796
Rewards Points: 1,018
Default

Replacing HVAC Thermostats


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
also let me add one or two comments.,,

make sure the furance/ air handler power is off as well.

when you replace old thermostat with new thermost just make a note how it connected follow the colour codes with the relalted lettering sometime it will have slightly diffrent lettering.

if any chance the old thermost did not have any marking the sure fire tip is check the furance/ air handler contol panel and see how it termated there so it should pretty much line up the same.

the reason why i mention that because not always be the case with colour code sometime one of the wire is broken or something else screw up and have to use other spare wire.

Merci , Marc
You are very right. I have dealt with some contractors recently who are probably the worse ever. Imagine a contractor doing something wrong, something that doesn't cost much, and then when asked, he says he's not responsible and does not offer a warranty for his work that took place 2 weeks ago.
handy man88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do I need a HVAC return vent in basement? westing HVAC 13 04-03-2014 02:43 AM
History of HVAC Industry Brands winkydink HVAC 8 03-25-2011 08:28 AM
HVAC plans for remodel wease HVAC 3 03-23-2011 11:47 AM
new 3 ton hvac Payne units. No cool air comes out when fan, compressor,thermostat run runbikeengr HVAC 10 04-10-2007 06:59 PM
Walls around HVAC Not Sure HVAC 1 08-15-2006 09:47 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.