Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-27-2011, 03:56 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Posts: 540
Share |
Default

Replacing GU10 Bulbs?


I want to replace (7) 120 volt, 50-watt GU10 bulbs in my home theatre with bulbs that have the same brightness, but are a lot more energy efficient and cooler to operate. I've looked into LEDs, but most of them are very dim. Perhaps I'm not looking in the right place.

Any recommendations?

kcrossley2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 04:39 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 33
Default

Replacing GU10 Bulbs?


You are looking for a 6w LED , the only ones i've seen at the big box stores are the 3w. they are still new and expensive, especially if you want dimmable.

dhubz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 04:43 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Posts: 540
Default

Replacing GU10 Bulbs?


Quote:
Originally Posted by dhubz View Post
You are looking for a 6w LED , the only ones i've seen at the big box stores are the 3w. they are still new and expensive, especially if you want dimmable.
So where is the best place to purchase a 6W LED. I do not need dimmable. Thanks for your help.
kcrossley2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 05:03 PM   #4
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Replacing GU10 Bulbs?


have you tried those in the picture here?

http://www.google.com/search?rlz=1C1...8&q=6+watt+LED
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 05:30 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Posts: 540
Default

Replacing GU10 Bulbs?


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
have you tried those in the picture here?

http://www.google.com/search?rlz=1C1...8&q=6+watt+LED
The problem with the LEDs is they are only 55 lumens, whereas a 50-watt halogen bulb is around 480 lumens.
kcrossley2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 05:39 PM   #6
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Replacing GU10 Bulbs?


Quote:
Originally Posted by kcrossley2 View Post
The problem with the LEDs is they are only 55 lumens, whereas a 50-watt halogen bulb is around 480 lumens.
330 lumens? http://www.google.com/products/catal...d=0CDUQ8wIwAg#

.
Quote:
330 lumens. 55 lumens/watt efficacy.
that's the brightest I can find. Sounds like you are stuck with that you have.

Last edited by nap; 01-27-2011 at 05:50 PM.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 05:41 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Posts: 540
Default

Replacing GU10 Bulbs?


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
Not bad, but at $50 per bulb that would cost me $350. Wow!
kcrossley2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 07:51 PM   #8
Electrical Supplier
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 205
Default

Replacing GU10 Bulbs?


you would actually want an LED unit closer to 10 watts......
__________________
"Do it right the first time and avoid duplication of effort"

Your AHJ/Inspectors ALWAYS have the final say on ANY electrical code issue.
If in doubt, contact a licensed, experienced, reputable electrician to perform the work.
LyonsElecSupply is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 11:49 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Posts: 540
Default

Replacing GU10 Bulbs?


Quote:
Originally Posted by LyonsElecSupply View Post
you would actually want an LED unit closer to 10 watts......
Know where I can get one?
kcrossley2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 12:56 AM   #10
Residential Designer
 
AndyGump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Orange County CA.
Posts: 1,278
Send a message via Skype™ to AndyGump
Default

Replacing GU10 Bulbs?


Try Cree, I love these things.

May be pricey though.

Andy.

O.K. got it fixed.

Last edited by AndyGump; 01-28-2011 at 08:53 AM.
AndyGump is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 01:36 AM   #11
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Replacing GU10 Bulbs?


Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyGump View Post
Try Cree, I love these things.

May be pricey though.

Andy.

Can you fix the link a little? I am comming up a error.

Merci.
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 07:34 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Posts: 540
Default

Replacing GU10 Bulbs?


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
Can you fix the link a little? I am comming up a error.

Merci.
Marc
I think this is it: http://creelighting.com/

But I don't see any GU10 bulbs.
kcrossley2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 06:28 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 47
Default

Replacing GU10 Bulbs?


Most of the bulbs in my house are GU10. When it comes to bulbs, CFL is going to get you the best bang for the buck.
suprvee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 12:56 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Posts: 540
Default

Replacing GU10 Bulbs?


Quote:
Originally Posted by suprvee View Post
Most of the bulbs in my house are GU10. When it comes to bulbs, CFL is going to get you the best bang for the buck.
A CFL would be fine. The problem is the only GU10 CFLs I've found are 35 watt equivalents, plus the CFL fixture appears to be too high for the housings I have, which are being used as wall sconces.

http://www.lowes.com/pd_243789-47842...ght%26page%3D5
kcrossley2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 01:06 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Posts: 540
Default

Replacing GU10 Bulbs?


Actually, this may work for the four recessed GU10's I have, but the sconces are still a problem, especially because of the CFL bulb depth and the fact that a small metal ring is used to secure the bulb.

http://www.amazon.com/Bulbrite-CF15R...284655&sr=1-32

OOPS! Won't work. This has a GU24 base.


Last edited by kcrossley2; 01-29-2011 at 01:10 AM.
kcrossley2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5 Watt A15 light bulbs for bath Metallo Appliances 2 01-22-2011 08:54 PM
Replacing incandescent bulbs with CFL bulbs NightOwlNYC Electrical 5 08-18-2010 11:45 PM
flourescent bulbs keep popping. darsunt Electrical 12 02-06-2010 10:10 AM
Newbie's lights flicker and bulbs blow out MA_in_PC_Fla Electrical 11 05-21-2008 02:34 PM
double-ended halogen fixture bulbs stop working watt-ever-ny Electrical 6 11-20-2007 05:25 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.