Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-22-2009, 09:54 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Replacing Garage Outlet


I went to change the lightbulb in the garage and the entire socket came out.

I bought a new Porcelain Ceiling Lampholder with a Grounding Outlet, but it looks like the previous outlet did not have the grounding part, so I'm wondering if I can still use this device.
The old one only has 2 screws for the white and black wires


The new one has a third green screw for grounding.



So did I buy the wrong one? If it's the wrong one can it still be used? Do I need to buy one without grounding? Also, I've never done anything like this before, and I don't have any gloves, if I just switch everything in my fuse box, I should be able to replace this with no shocks, right? Or should I just call an electrician?

CIAlias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 10:10 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Replacing Garage Outlet


Do you have a ground wire in the box? (bare or green). If so, connect it to the ground terminal on the fixture. If you do not have a ground wire, just connect it like the old one,leaving the ground terminal empty.
Turn off the switch that controls the fixture before you replace it. If you want, find the breaker and turn that off too.

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 10:14 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Replacing Garage Outlet


Awesome, thank you. One more question. I watched a video on replacing an outlet, and they cut the wires from the old one, stripped the wires again, and connected them to the new outlet, can I just unwrap the wire around the screws and rewrap it around the new one?
CIAlias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 10:27 AM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,749
Default

Replacing Garage Outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by CIAlias View Post
Awesome, thank you. One more question. I watched a video on replacing an outlet, and they cut the wires from the old one, stripped the wires again, and connected them to the new outlet, can I just unwrap the wire around the screws and rewrap it around the new one?
Yes. That would be the preferred method.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 12:22 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 999
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Replacing Garage Outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by CIAlias View Post
Awesome, thank you. One more question. I watched a video on replacing an outlet, and they cut the wires from the old one, stripped the wires again, and connected them to the new outlet, can I just unwrap the wire around the screws and rewrap it around the new one?
Only reason I would see cutting the wires off an old outlet is if they are back-stabbed. I just replaced a bunch of outlets in my new house and all of the outlets and switches were back-stabbed. In your case where you are dealing with a screw, just un-screw it and attach it to the new light.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 02:50 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Columbia Heights/NE Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 86
Default

Replacing Garage Outlet


Make sure the loops on the wire ends wrap clockwise, like a backwards question mark. That way, the loops get tighter as you tighten the screw. (It's also required by code.)

I also see that you've purchased a socket with a three prong outlet on it. That third prong really needs to be grounded. I'd take that fixture back and find one with a two prong outlet (if they still make them), or a plain socket like you had before.

thegonagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing Light Switch & Outlet, but now I'm confused. ego1138 Electrical 7 04-25-2009 04:49 PM
Replacing outlet to new GFCI - Wall switch Protonix Electrical 13 04-09-2009 08:36 AM
replacing vanity light...issue with outlet box? tarheelblue Electrical 5 01-28-2008 09:20 AM
Outlet in garage quit working Thirdeye Electrical 10 07-01-2007 10:32 PM
Adding garage outlet Shane Electrical 1 02-23-2006 04:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.