Replacing FPE Panel - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-03-2012, 08:43 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Replacing FPE Panel


No, I am not thinking of replacing my FPE Stab-Lok panel myself. But I am wondering how much time, material and money might be involved in having a Pro do it. Below is a pic of the panel with the cover off:Replacing FPE Panel-img_3163.jpg
Replacing FPE Panel-img_3165.jpg
I have not had any failures and the breakers trip whenever I add too much load but I am considering selling the house. The current service is 150 amps. It that ok in 2012?

Advertisement

crashdavid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 08:50 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Replacing FPE Panel


Replacing a panel can be a very easy task, and you will save a lot of money by doing it yourself.

One concern in your situation is that I am assuming that you don't have an outside disconnect since you have a main breaker panel. If that's the case, that means you would have to either pull the meter, disconnect the bugs at the overhead connection, or work the feed in while hot. None of those things, IMO, are something that a homeowner and DIYer should be doing.

As for your service size, no one can really say since it depends on the specifics of your house. But if you haven't had a problem most times it will be fine.

Advertisement

Calc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 09:58 PM   #3
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,759
Rewards Points: 1,102
Default

Replacing FPE Panel


150A service is usually more then enough for the average size all gas home. If everything in your home is electric you may want to consider a 200A. The best way is to do a service calculation. And no, do not attempt this yourself. Hire a pro.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 11:40 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Replacing FPE Panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by crashdavid
I have not had any failures and the breakers trip whenever I add too much load but I am considering selling the house. The current service is 150 amps. It that ok in 2012?
In my area they aren't against code so nothing prevents selling your home but good to be rid of. Your panel looks cleaner than mine so maybe easier to replace. Good luck!

Last edited by Mrdippy; 08-03-2012 at 11:44 PM.
Mrdippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 02:31 AM   #5
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Replacing FPE Panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Calc
Replacing a panel can be a very easy task, and you will save a lot of money by doing it yourself.

One concern in your situation is that I am assuming that you don't have an outside disconnect since you have a main breaker panel. If that's the case, that means you would have to either pull the meter, disconnect the bugs at the overhead connection, or work the feed in while hot. None of those things, IMO, are something that a homeowner and DIYer should be doing.

As for your service size, no one can really say since it depends on the specifics of your house. But if you haven't had a problem most times it will be fine.
Working on panel feeds hot is something no one should ever do. Professionals included.
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to andrew79 For This Useful Post:
a_lost_shadow (08-04-2012)
Old 08-04-2012, 09:52 AM   #6
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Replacing FPE Panel


If you are selling the house, leave the panel. When a prospective buyer looks at a possible property, they rarely know the difference or will even notice. If the buyer brings in a HI, they might say something, but you can deal with it then.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
DangerMouse (08-04-2012)
Old 08-04-2012, 10:48 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Replacing FPE Panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by andrew79 View Post
Working on panel feeds hot is something no one should ever do. Professionals included.
I knew someone would say that...
Calc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 10:56 AM   #8
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,759
Rewards Points: 1,102
Default

Replacing FPE Panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by andrew79

Working on panel feeds hot is something no one should ever do. Professionals included.
In my area that's the only way we do 200a and under resi service changes.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 11:18 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Replacing FPE Panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by electures View Post
In my area that's the only way we do 200a and under resi service changes.
Yes, but it should only be done by a professional with proper training and PPE.


And watch out because Speedy Petey is going to send you rude PMs, but his PM box is full so you can't reply.
Calc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 12:29 PM   #10
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Replacing FPE Panel


the only time we're allowed to work live according to "the letter of the law" is if it's absolutely necessary ie. going to shut down someones life support if you kill the panel, and then you have to wear the "spacesuit"
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 07:27 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Replacing FPE Panel


Thanks for all the feedback. FYI that FED.Pac panel is only 24" long by 11" wide. Try finding something that size these days. The new panels have more spaces but they are 30" to 34+". I had the electrician over and he figured he can make the existing wires work, especially the mains into the house. It should be interesting. He intends to pull the meter as there is no outside shut off and he has two young children.

Advertisement

crashdavid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
costs , fpe , panel , stab-lok


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ceiling fan light issue after replacing electrical panel texan206 Electrical 3 04-22-2012 12:33 AM
replacing main breaker vs. sub panel gf1025 Electrical 14 07-21-2011 02:38 PM
Garage Sub Panel Questions mscanlon01 Electrical 3 07-20-2011 11:03 AM
Passing wire to another panel theatretch85 Electrical 5 09-21-2009 12:09 AM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 08:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts