Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-22-2009, 06:18 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Middletown, OH
Posts: 127
Rewards Points: 75
Default

replacing existing light with can light?


In my house, I have a florescent light in the addition part of my kitchen. My plan is to replace it with a 4" can light and add two more to the left and right of the existing light. My problem is I don't know how to branch the wires off to the left and right b/c there is no access from above.

mferguson0414 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 06:56 PM   #2
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

replacing existing light with can light?


Turn of the electric. Remove the junction box. Place these wires into the junction box for this center light. Run another 14/2 from this one to the left one. For the left one run 14/2 to the right one. Connect all the ground wires (bare or green) ones together. All the whites go together and all the blacks go together.

Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 08:51 PM   #3
Electrician
 
ctsmiths's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Naugatuck, CT
Posts: 186
Rewards Points: 150
Default

replacing existing light with can light?


Quote:
Originally Posted by mferguson0414 View Post
In my house, I have a florescent light in the addition part of my kitchen. My plan is to replace it with a 4" can light and add two more to the left and right of the existing light. My problem is I don't know how to branch the wires off to the left and right b/c there is no access from above.
Do you mean there are joists in the way?
ctsmiths is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 07:24 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Middletown, OH
Posts: 127
Rewards Points: 75
Default

replacing existing light with can light?


yes ctsmiths, there are joist, sorry I should have said something about them being in the way
mferguson0414 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 07:33 AM   #5
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

replacing existing light with can light?


use a drill with a long extension and drill a hole into the next joists. At Home Depot or an electrical supply house the sell long drill bits for this purpose that have a small hole on the end to attach a fish wire so you can then reverse the drill and slowly pull the wire into the new hole from the new recessed can hole into the center junction box.
Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 07:45 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,965
Rewards Points: 2,026
Default

replacing existing light with can light?


Check to see if there is a gap between the ceiling material (drywall, etc.) and the joists and see if you can insert a stiff wire (or electrician's fish tape) along the top of the ceiling material over to your other light positions.

This does not always work since the furring strips running perpendicular to the joists and to which the ceiling material is attached (yielding the gap) may also be in the way.

AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing Bathroom Light Fixtures, going from one to two. diynewb Electrical 3 11-25-2008 10:16 AM
Adding second light switch to an existing light TexasEd Electrical 7 08-15-2008 06:22 PM
Adding a light to an existing 3-way connection nthomp16 Electrical 2 07-21-2008 06:57 PM
add a second light to an existing 3 way switch circuit djohns10 Electrical 6 03-02-2007 07:16 PM
Replacing light killed downstream outlets, totally stuck amissner Electrical 5 07-13-2006 06:02 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.