Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-05-2013, 05:49 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 28
Share |
Default

Replacing door bell transformer


One day both my doorbell and the one for my tenant stopped working. I figure that the transformer needs to be replaced. I purchased a new one. My transformer is bolted to the bottom of the fuse panel. I removed the cover and saw that there are 3 wires, 2 black and a green. The green is wired to ground, one of the black is piggy backed to a fuse(the wire is split with a connector in the middle, see pic) and the second black is screwed into a panel that is fiilled with screws. I really do not know what that screw filled panel is for. Here is a pic, I have pointed out, with a pencil, the screw that I am unsure of. Can anyone guide me in the right direction as to how to proceed to replace the transformer?


Mudkicker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 05:59 PM   #2
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,654
Default

Replacing door bell transformer


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mudkicker View Post
One day both my doorbell and the one for my tenant stopped working.
Can anyone guide me in the right direction as to how to proceed to replace the transformer?
Sure. Get a meter and VERIFY the transformer.
Both volts in and volts out.

If it's dead (it happens)... replace it.

TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 06:11 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 28
Default

Replacing door bell transformer


Quote:
Originally Posted by TarheelTerp View Post
Sure. Get a meter and VERIFY the transformer.
Both volts in and volts out.

If it's dead (it happens)... replace it.
I get zero readings from the transformer out(were the doorbell wires are connected). If I turn the fuse off, can i safely remove the other black wire from that screw that I pointed out with the pencil in my picture?
Mudkicker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 06:23 PM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,903
Default

Replacing door bell transformer


Those are not fuses, they are breakers. Yes, once you turn off the breaker, you can remove the transformer. Usually the transformers are piggybacked off of a Junction box, and other times like yours, attached to the panel.

Just reverse the process that you did, when you removed the old transformer, when you reinstall the new one.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 07:19 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 28
Default

Replacing door bell transformer


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Those are not fuses, they are breakers. Yes, once you turn off the breaker, you can remove the transformer. Usually the transformers are piggybacked off of a Junction box, and other times like yours, attached to the panel.

Just reverse the process that you did, when you removed the old transformer, when you reinstall the new one.
Ok, if i turn the breaker off, can i safely touch the other wire that is connected to the screw on the bottom(where I pointed my pencil)?
Mudkicker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 10:11 PM   #6
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,903
Default

Replacing door bell transformer


You do not touch anything but the outer covering of the wire. Use the one hand rule. One hand on the screw driver, the other to your side, while working in the box. The wire that lands on that Neutral bar, can go anywhere on there, if you do not feel comfortable trying to fish it back under that same screw. Just when you get the new transformer, take the stranded wire, and twist counter-clockwise if placing on the right side of a screw, clockwise if placing on the left side of a screw. That way when you tighten the screw down, it will not untwist the strands.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 05:15 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 28
Default

Replacing door bell transformer


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
You do not touch anything but the outer covering of the wire. Use the one hand rule. One hand on the screw driver, the other to your side, while working in the box. The wire that lands on that Neutral bar, can go anywhere on there, if you do not feel comfortable trying to fish it back under that same screw. Just when you get the new transformer, take the stranded wire, and twist counter-clockwise if placing on the right side of a screw, clockwise if placing on the left side of a screw. That way when you tighten the screw down, it will not untwist the strands.
Great thanks. The Neutral bar, can you explain what it is? Thanks
Mudkicker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 07:17 AM   #8
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,903
Default

Replacing door bell transformer


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mudkicker View Post
Great thanks. The Neutral bar, can you explain what it is? Thanks
That big bus with all of the white wires attached to it, at the bottom, along with your black wire.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 07:21 AM   #9
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 470
Default

Replacing door bell transformer


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
You do not touch anything but the outer covering of the wire. Use the one hand rule. One hand on the screw driver, the other to your side, while working in the box. The wire that lands on that Neutral bar, can go anywhere on there, if you do not feel comfortable trying to fish it back under that same screw. Just when you get the new transformer, take the stranded wire, and twist counter-clockwise if placing on the right side of a screw, clockwise if placing on the left side of a screw. That way when you tighten the screw down, it will not untwist the strands.
I'm not qualified for energized work, but I did stay at a Holiday Inn last night. Great idea. Give someone a "crash" course in hot-work and hope they survive the experience, considering they don't even know what the parts of the electrical panel are.

A fine responsible approach.

Mark
__________________
Licensed Master Electrician
Commonwealth of Virginia
busman is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to busman For This Useful Post:
Missouri Bound (02-06-2013)
Old 02-06-2013, 08:02 AM   #10
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,903
Default

Replacing door bell transformer


BTW, I just noticed that there are wire nuts in that box. By Canada's standards, you are not allowed to do that in your breaker panels. Only here in the U.S. can we do that inside the breaker panel.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 08:27 AM   #11
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 470
Default

Replacing door bell transformer


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
You do not touch anything but the outer covering of the wire. Use the one hand rule. One hand on the screw driver, the other to your side, while working in the box. The wire that lands on that Neutral bar, can go anywhere on there, if you do not feel comfortable trying to fish it back under that same screw. Just when you get the new transformer, take the stranded wire, and twist counter-clockwise if placing on the right side of a screw, clockwise if placing on the left side of a screw. That way when you tighten the screw down, it will not untwist the strands.

Oh, and you might want to explain to the OP what will happen to him if he loses his one-handed grip on that screwdriver and drops in on an energized part. One-handed does nothing for arc flash and is NOT a safe work method.

Mark
__________________
Licensed Master Electrician
Commonwealth of Virginia
busman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 12:32 PM   #12
MCB
sparky
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 43
Default

Replacing door bell transformer


Best to close down your computer stuff and just shut the whole panel off when you are in there (with the main)....better to have to reprogram a few clocks than have an accident that kills you.


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll
BTW, I just noticed that there are wire nuts in that box. By Canada's standards, you are not allowed to do that in your breaker panels. Only here in the U.S. can we do that inside the breaker panel.
The CEC allows it for extending the wires, but not to use it as a junction box.
MCB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 03:02 PM   #13
747
registered
 
747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Illinois (kankakee county)
Posts: 1,330
Default

Replacing door bell transformer


Be carefull i would kill the power to the box first. You see the big black cable above at 12 oclock. IT A BAD BOY.: BE CAREFULL MESSING AROUND DOWN THERE.
747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 04:57 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 28
Default

Replacing door bell transformer


Quote:
Originally Posted by MCB View Post
Best to close down your computer stuff and just shut the whole panel off when you are in there (with the main)....better to have to reprogram a few clocks than have an accident that kills you.




The CEC allows it for extending the wires, but not to use it as a junction box.
Yes, there is a big black lever that shuts down the power to the whole house, ill do it that way.
I really want to learn how to repair things in my house. I am pretty handy overall but basically no knowledge when it comes to electrical.
Mudkicker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 11:55 PM   #15
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Replacing door bell transformer


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mudkicker View Post
Yes, there is a big black lever that shuts down the power to the whole house, ill do it that way.
I really want to learn how to repair things in my house. I am pretty handy overall but basically no knowledge when it comes to electrical.
Suffit d'acheter le transfomer sonnette taille appropriée, ils sont généralement moins 16 volts assurez-vous que vous n'obtenez pas le mauvais laquelle elle sera de 24 volts dont il est commun pour Furance et l'unité climatisation

Just buy the proper sized doorbell transfomer they are typically at 16 volts make sure you do not get the wrong one which it will be 24 volts which it is common for furance and air conding unit

Merci,
Marc

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Low voltage lighting transformer driving me nuts rjniles Electrical 12 01-26-2012 12:18 AM
Doorbell Transformer Problem oldfatnbroke Electrical 9 01-11-2012 09:43 PM
Motion sensor with transformer query RealX1 Electrical 4 12-06-2011 01:31 AM
When a pole transformer goes bad KE2KB Electrical 39 12-03-2008 09:44 PM
Central Ac transformer question Rschrei518 HVAC 4 10-20-2008 08:21 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.