Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-19-2009, 10:43 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Share |
Default

Replacing cord on a 1.5 hp above ground pool pump


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
Except that the current installation could violate code & Mfg recommendations
What code would be violated?

hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2009, 10:53 PM   #17
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,798
Default

Replacing cord on a 1.5 hp above ground pool pump


Quote:
Originally Posted by LeeAmes View Post
The cord and plug are not warm to the touch and it is #14ga cord...
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeeAmes View Post
And the installation is less than 3 years old.
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeeAmes View Post
It's 10 ft
This installation is riddled with violations and obviously was not inspected. Not that that matters to some folks.


There are MANY special codes with regard to pools.
Some key ones are:
- The cord for a pump motor MUST have an insulated ground of not less than #12.
- The cord must not be longer than THREE feet.
- If the receptacle for the pump is between 5-10 feet from the pool it MUST be of the locking type and be GFI protected.
- NO other receptacles are allowed less than 10' from the pool.
- You MUST have a standard 120v GFI protected receptacle between 10-20 feet from the pool.


Any other pool questions let me know.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2009, 10:57 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Default

Replacing cord on a 1.5 hp above ground pool pump


Speedy, Thank you, I have never delt with any pool wiring.
hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2009, 10:57 PM   #19
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,798
Default

Replacing cord on a 1.5 hp above ground pool pump


I'll also add, anyone giving advice on the electric requirements for pools should darn well know the codes and what they are talking about. There is just too much at risk!
Sorry, but I feel very strongly about this.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 12:03 AM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 7
Default

Replacing cord on a 1.5 hp above ground pool pump


The original cord from the manufacturer is 6 ft long and has '12AW GX3C' written on it, so I guess that means it's 12 gauge? It's not on a timer, and I run it for up to 12 hours in the summer.

I had the pool and pump professionally installed and had an electrician install a GFI receptacle specifically for the pool pump, but the pump came from the manufacturer with a 6 ft cord.

I will get a shorter 14 gauge cable to replace the orginal.

Thanks again to everyone for all your help!
LeeAmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 03:46 AM   #21
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,502
Default

Replacing cord on a 1.5 hp above ground pool pump


Lee the AWG numbers run where the smaller AWG number has a larger diameter hence a lower resistance. 12 AWG wire has 25% wider diameter than 14 AWG. 12AWG cord is better than 14 AWG

Disclaimer
__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery
PaliBob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 08:09 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 272
Default

Replacing cord on a 1.5 hp above ground pool pump


Quote:
Originally Posted by LeeAmes View Post
I had the pool and pump professionally installed and had an electrician install a GFI receptacle specifically for the pool pump, but the pump came from the manufacturer with a 6 ft cord.
The NEC has different requirements for pools, based on whether a pool fits the definition of a permanent pool or a storable pool. The main difference that applies here depends on the depth of water that your pool can hold, as well as the installation of the pool (inground, partially inground, aboveground)

For an on-ground or aboveground pool, up to a maximum of 42" water, a pool is considered a storable pool by definition (680.2 definitions, 2008 NEC). Storable pools are not limited to 3' of cord. (680.7(A))

But if a pool is inground, or partially in the ground, or can hold water to a depth over 42", it is a permanently installed pool by definition and is subject to the 3' cord length rule.

I know what I'm going to say is splitting hairs, but I tend to consider a typical aboveground pool as partially in the ground due to the slight excavation and placing of the sand base under the bottom.

If you agree, then it is partially in the ground, and therefore considered a permanent pool. If you don't agree, then it is an aboveground pool, and as long as the pool cannot hold over 42" of water, then it is a storable pool and the 3' cord length is not applicable.

This might be why the mfg had a 6' cord on the pump.

Quote:
I will get a shorter 14 gauge cable to replace the orginal.
As Speedy and Palibob pointed out, you need a minimum 12AWG flexible cord. The reason is like Speedy said, you need a minimum size 12AWG ground conductor, and a 14AWG cord will not have it. 12AWG is the next size up from 14AWG.
__________________
Willis

Last edited by williswires; 04-20-2009 at 08:17 AM.
williswires is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 01:37 PM   #23
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,798
Default

Replacing cord on a 1.5 hp above ground pool pump


Good point Willis. I didn't consider this could be one of those "Intek" storable pools.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 01:45 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Replacing cord on a 1.5 hp above ground pool pump


My Inspector spent more time looking at the pool wiring & the sub I installed then anything else. The pool has been there 30+ years but he wanted to make sure everything met current code - as did I

I had to add one outlet in the pool area to meet the 10-20' rule
There were outlets in the pool cabana, the only other one was on the outside of the pool cabana but was outside of the fenced in pool area

I'm also replacing/moving the outside pool area light
It's halogen & the glass is missing
I'm installing a CFL floodlight instead

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
in ground pool chad2423 Building & Construction 4 09-28-2009 09:41 AM
Pool Pump Wiring mpdive Electrical 17 06-15-2008 07:30 PM
pool pump BillyD Plumbing 4 05-12-2008 10:07 PM
need instructions on replacing a Whirlpool refrigerator power cord please. ChrisC30 Electrical 2 03-10-2008 09:59 PM
Just to confirm, no GFCI needed for hard wired pool pump..right?? Al the Diy guy Electrical 6 02-10-2008 12:28 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.