Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-22-2008, 01:35 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Question

Replacing Button for Electrical Garage Door Opener


Has anyone ever heard of the push button for the garage door opener going bad? i.e. becoming "noisy" or bouncing?

Is this button just a typical low voltage (door bell) button?

Problem:

This is an old garage door opener, but my sister insists that the button must be bad because twice in last week she has pressed button, watched for door to start to close, only to find later that the door is open. Pressed button again, and door closed with no problems and stayed that way. She has never had this problem with this system before.

Assuming (and yes I know all the pitfalls to that) that she is correct, that the button needs replacing, I want to ensure we get the correct replacement part(s).

Any thoughts or other suggestions that might need checking that might create this same problem???

I know it is a relatively easy fix, but not if it's not the problem!

Thanks you for your time and consideration in advance, I'm glad I had found this forum, look forward to reading more.

Deb

FL_Deb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 02:24 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Replacing Button for Electrical Garage Door Opener


It's not the button (probably)

1. Change the code on the door.

2. Make sure the sensors are aligned properly.

2. Some doors have a limit switch on the track and the chain can get out of whack.

I'd guess it's #2.

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 02:33 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Replacing Button for Electrical Garage Door Opener


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
It's not the button (probably)

1. Change the code on the door.

2. Make sure the sensors are aligned properly.

2. Some doors have a limit switch on the track and the chain can get out of whack.

I'd guess it's #2.
Can't Verify right now but if there are no sensors (photoelectric) then is 1 or 3 the most likely (I promise not to be an old wet hen if you are wrong) just trying to set up an attack plan in my head here.

Thanks again!

Deb
FL_Deb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 02:43 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Replacing Button for Electrical Garage Door Opener


Quote:
is 1 or 3 the most likely
Yes
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 02:52 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Replacing Button for Electrical Garage Door Opener


OK I deserved that I guess

Mental functioning fading as dawn is approaching.

The very best to you and yours!
FL_Deb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 09:21 AM   #6
Power Gen/RS Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Oak Park, Illinois
Posts: 751
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Replacing Button for Electrical Garage Door Opener


Here's something to consider:

I live in Illinois and you (and my parents, BTW) are in Florida. My garage door goes through some seasonal pains twice a year in spring and fall. As the temperature changes, the door opener parts expand and contract and things can begin to bind slightly. Garage door openers are designed to open if something blocks them from closing, i.e. foot, small child, sleeping grandparent. Now I know that you do not see the temperature extremes that I do, but I would check the action on the door. Unlock the door from the opener drive mechanism and open/close it by hand to check the action.

This same thing happened to me the other day and the problem was rooted in some binding of the door on its way down. I adjusted the track a bit and the problem was solved.

On the other hand, if you close the door (and verify that it does close) and then find it open later, you could be getting interference from another transmitter. In that case, you'd want to try changing the code as explained in another post.
__________________
Well, now, there's what's right and what's right and never the twain shall meet.
BigJimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 11:36 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Replacing Button for Electrical Garage Door Opener


You Guys are the Best! I really appreciate all the help and ideas. Hopefully I can check out these ideas and see if the problem goes away. I let you know.

Again, thank you for your promt response to my questions and thoughtful ideas you provided.

Deb

FL_Deb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mold in detached garage jkrodger Building & Construction 15 05-01-2009 01:46 PM
Crazy Garage Extension, Building over blacktop?!?! commissure General DIY Discussions 4 09-13-2007 11:09 AM
Replacing Wall in Garage viking1974 Building & Construction 3 08-10-2007 10:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.