Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-23-2009, 01:32 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 321
Rewards Points: 254
Default

replacing box in wall with new construction type


I want to knock out a single gang light switch box and replace with double gang, but I want to install the new construction type that nails in at an angle, is it possible to do?

There are no built-in clamps on the new construction boxes and you should staple any new wires to the studs? but not enough access to do so?

DIYGST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 02:25 PM   #2
Member
 
RippySkippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ames, Iowa
Posts: 1,233
Rewards Points: 500
Default

replacing box in wall with new construction type


Of course you can install that type...you'll just need a much larger hole! Why don't you want to use the remodel box? I've used many and have had great results.

Don't worry about stapling the wires in the stud cavity...they run wild. New construction requires stapling to keep the wire from getting caught between the drywall and stud when hanging drywall.

__________________
when it comes to breakfast, the chicken is dedicated, the pig is committed.
LMASD
RippySkippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 02:30 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

replacing box in wall with new construction type


Can a new box with nails be screwed into a stud instead?
Are there any boxes that uses screws?
Is it not allowed by code to use screws?
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 02:34 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 321
Rewards Points: 254
Default

replacing box in wall with new construction type


I am going to tile over the wall and worry about the remodelling boxes introducing flexes when operated on, although, since this is just for light switches, unlike receptacles that have good plug retention.

I may just use remodelling box and predrill 2 of holes on the stud side and use a use 2 short screws to anchor it some more, just incase.
DIYGST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 02:37 PM   #5
Household Handyman
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Albany, Ga.
Posts: 2,284
Rewards Points: 1,020
Default

replacing box in wall with new construction type


I've done this many times. My way-Cut the power to this circuit FIRST. Remove the switch, then using one of those hacksaw handles that leave part of the blade extended, cut the nails of the old box without damaging the sheetrock, then you can remove the old box through the hole. Then I cut out the extra needed for the new two-gang box, I use the remodel type with the ears that tighten up on the back of the sheetrock and I secure it in place just snugly. Then I use two sheetrock screws placed into the side of the box that is against the stud and screw it down tight, if there's not a stud then there were no nails to start with. IF this is illegal, then I was taught by an older, established, maybe not sane, Licensed Electrician on how to do this. Thanks, David
Thurman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 02:50 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 321
Rewards Points: 254
Default

replacing box in wall with new construction type


Thurman you have more patience than I.
I was taught to just use blunt object and an hammer to knock the heck out of the plastic boxes. Sometimes the nails comes loose with it, the rest of the times it shatters and fall inside the wall.
DIYGST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 02:59 PM   #7
Member
 
RippySkippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ames, Iowa
Posts: 1,233
Rewards Points: 500
Default

replacing box in wall with new construction type


If you're going to tile over the hole...whack it out, support the outlet box like you want and piece the drywall back in. You might consider the adjustable boxes...but I think you're over thinking the solution...as long as the drywall is in good shape and you don't crush it with the screw clamps, you'll be fine...
__________________
when it comes to breakfast, the chicken is dedicated, the pig is committed.
LMASD
RippySkippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 04:19 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

replacing box in wall with new construction type


Most boxes come out easily.....unless it has a bracket in front of the stud 99% of the time I can change a 1G to 2G with no patching. Just get between the box and the stud with a screwdriver and pry it loose.

Just screw thru the new box to the stud.

I rarely use the old work boxes. It's a much more secre installation when it's attached to the stud, plus there is more room in the new construction boxes.

Last edited by 220/221; 02-23-2009 at 04:24 PM.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 09:10 PM   #9
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,811
Rewards Points: 2,420
Default

replacing box in wall with new construction type


If you cut the bigger hole first you can pry the nails out using a pair of dykes as a lever.

Here is a picture of a pre-made box with the screws thru the side.


Arlington and Smart Box make versions.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 09:15 PM   #10
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

replacing box in wall with new construction type


Installing screws through the side of a box is a violation, the box pictured above is legal. Either use an old work box and set the depth to the new wall depth, or get yourself a 2gang box as pictured above.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 11:06 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

replacing box in wall with new construction type


Technical foul. Here's the same box. Just run some screws in. The conductors are not going to come in contact with them.

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 11:23 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 321
Rewards Points: 254
Default

replacing box in wall with new construction type


What about metal boxes?
DIYGST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 11:40 PM   #13
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

replacing box in wall with new construction type


Quote:
Originally Posted by DIYGST View Post
What about metal boxes?

What about them?
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 11:41 PM   #14
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

replacing box in wall with new construction type


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
Technical foul. Here's the same box. Just run some screws in. The conductors are not going to come in contact with them.

Says who? Why should I believe you? And your picture actually meets code, BTW.

(1) Nails and Screws. Nails and screws, where used as a fastening means, shall be attatched by using brackets on the outside of the enclosure, or shall pass through the interior within 1/4" of the back or ends of the enclosure.

Last edited by chris75; 02-23-2009 at 11:57 PM.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 12:01 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 321
Rewards Points: 254
Default

replacing box in wall with new construction type


You can shoot screws from the inside on a metal box right?

I don't think the code violation is just a matter of something making contact with the screw you add, but with the modification to a box that wasn't made for screws?

DIYGST is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Type of wall box to use thequickness Electrical 3 09-01-2008 07:56 PM
replacing wall mounted light fixture donnakay78 Electrical 3 06-12-2008 09:07 AM
Replacing stud wall behind brick bayoudonnie Building & Construction 1 05-19-2008 10:34 AM
Replacing outside wall stud-Termite damaged-advice needed. gone_fishing Carpentry 4 02-03-2008 03:12 PM
V shaped wall construction brosnt1 Building & Construction 3 02-08-2006 03:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.