Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-13-2012, 03:31 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Carrollton, Texas USA
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Replacing All Receptables In Home


They are about (25) years old and too many are loose and won't hold a plug anymore, furthermore the wife wants white instead of the current ivory ones. She's hot and get's what's she wants!

There are only a couple of breakers marked now, both for the A/C the rest are undocumented. I got a quote for $30 an outlet and if it was just a few I would pay it, but I have quite a few to do.

Do professional electricians replace outlets w/o shutting down the breaker as I am thinking the price will be crazy if he has to identify the breaker, shut it down, do the work, etc? Or do they just do it?

I could do it as have done in the past and was thinking I could do it w/o killing myself in the process. I can't figure out a way to easily identify the breakers to the rooms. 3500sq, 6 bedrooms, living, etc, etc, big!

pinkfloyd43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 03:35 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Replacing All Receptables In Home


Easy answer...turn off the main.

To label the panel, take a radio, turn it up loud, turn off breakers until you find which turns off the radio. Move on to the next one.

Keep in mind, you will need GFI's on the kitchen counter tops and tamper resistant receptacles everywhere.

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.



Last edited by k_buz; 11-13-2012 at 03:44 PM.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 03:40 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,977
Rewards Points: 3,070
Default

Replacing All Receptables In Home


Just plug in a radio and turn it up (not a battery back up one) and start hitting the breakers.
Not worth getting hurt or burning off a wire trying to do it while it's hot.
Buy your outlets in the contractors backs and there less then $1.00 a piece and take all of 2 min. to change out.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 03:53 PM   #4
keeping things simple
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fredericton, NB, Canada
Posts: 74
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Replacing All Receptables In Home


Might be a good idea to find out if you have aluminum wiring first... not likely with a 25yr old house but you never know.
frankm1960 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 04:10 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 157
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Replacing All Receptables In Home


Mapping out circuits is easy, it just takes time. But time well spent as it makes things a whole lot easier when you want to work on electrical in the future. I like to open one breaker at a time and then go investigate with my outlet tester.

I’m in the process of the switching out all of my receptacles for the exact same reasons. I recently completed the main level – 28 receptacles. I’m not as fast as Joe as it takes me on average 20 minutes per receptacle to remove old, re-strip wires, vacuum out JB, connect new receptacle, and shim so that it is snug and sits flush in the cover. No tamper-resistant receptacles here… I hate those.
silversport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 04:17 PM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,695
Rewards Points: 2,188
Default

Replacing All Receptables In Home


The TR replacement receptacle are required if the 2011 NEC has been adopted in your area.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 04:39 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 295
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Replacing All Receptables In Home


and boy do those TR plugs suck. You will have a hell of a time plugging anything in.

I have done plugs hot but it is not fun. Shut all breakers off and changethe plugs out. Then use the radio trick or get a helper to be in a room as you start flicking breakers on and off. Keep in mind 1 breaker may do a room and a hall and another will do the fan or lights.

Also buy a non contact voltage detector - they are GREAT to have. http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1...&storeId=10051
pwgsx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 05:03 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 157
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Replacing All Receptables In Home


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
The TR replacement receptacle are required if the 2011 NEC has been adopted in your area.
We're on 2008
silversport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 05:06 PM   #9
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Replacing All Receptables In Home


Still required.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 05:27 PM   #10
Member
 
firehawkmph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Near Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 1,585
Rewards Points: 1,002
Default

Replacing All Receptables In Home


[quote=pwgsx;1051478]and boy do those TR plugs suck. You will have a hell of a time plugging anything in.

I didn't like them at first when I put them in my new shop addition. They are a little stiff to plug things into at first. Mine are all 20amp outlets. They seem to wear in after a little use. Not so bad now.
Mike Hawkins
firehawkmph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 05:50 PM   #11
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,852
Rewards Points: 2,498
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Replacing All Receptables In Home


Are the tamper proof still required when only changing the receptacle? They are not here. It is grandfathered and you can replace like for like.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (11-13-2012)
Old 11-13-2012, 06:10 PM   #12
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Replacing All Receptables In Home


Required on change out.

Quote:
(5) Tamper-Resistant Receptacles. Listed tamper-resistant
receptacles shall be provided where replacements are made at
receptacle outlets that are required to be tamper-resistant elsewhere
in this Code.
Think that's excessive? Here's a little food for thought...

From 2011 NEC...

Quote:
(4) Arc-Fault Circuit-Interrupter Protection. Where a
receptacle outlet is supplied by a branch circuit that requires
arc-fault circuit interrupter protection as specified
elsewhere in this Code, a replacement receptacle at this
outlet shall be one of the following:
(1) A listed outlet branch circuit type arc-fault circuit interrupter
receptacle
(2) A receptacle protected by a listed outlet branch circuit
type arc-fault circuit interrupter type receptacle
(3) A receptacle protected by a listed combination type
arc-fault circuit interrupter type circuit breaker
This requirement becomes effective January 1, 2014.
This means that a simple $75 service call to replace a receptacle will now cost about $150. Now remember that not all panels have AFCI type breaker.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 06:18 PM   #13
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,695
Rewards Points: 2,188
Default

Replacing All Receptables In Home


That and the AFCI receptacle has not made it to the market yet either.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 06:37 PM   #14
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Replacing All Receptables In Home


Quote:
Originally Posted by pwgsx View Post

Also buy a non contact voltage detector - they are GREAT to have.

...but NEVER trust one. Use a plug in outlet tester or get a Wiggy.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 07:34 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Carrollton, Texas USA
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Replacing All Receptables In Home


Thanks for all the replies. Feel stupid that I didn't think of the radio thing! Glad this is here! I am by myself, wife works all day, and don't have a helper at all but with the radio I should be able to get it done!

I will do it myself and documenting the panel so I won't have to worry about it later.

pinkfloyd43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need advice on remodeling/renovating a prefab (mobile) home countrylifemom Remodeling 50 08-09-2014 06:56 AM
Oh! 1st home! Closing in two weeks! 30 Pics! Firefighter3244 General DIY Discussions 29 07-02-2014 08:03 PM
replacing floor in mobile home aka trailer beech Building & Construction 2 02-23-2011 02:20 PM
NEWBIE- Looking to build my own Barn Home in Idaho LAWFISH General DIY Discussions 2 11-14-2008 07:43 PM
Owning a home (not a mobile home) on leased land? Badfish740 Off Topic 11 03-30-2008 09:34 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.