Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-15-2012, 10:06 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 119
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

replacing a 60 A double slot breaker with 2 30s


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Without the panel info, we do not know if this panel will accept tandom breakers.
Square "D" panels and breakers do not have rejection pins. Twin breakers can, then, be installed. Live an' learn

kontoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 10:07 PM   #17
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

replacing a 60 A double slot breaker with 2 30s


Is this breaker box is 20-30 or staight 30 space panel?

If your door cover mention 20-30 then the bottom 5 row are used for tandem breakers and by the way the QO tandems they do come in 2 differnt verison of tandem breaker so becarefull picking the correct one and your panel is CTL verison so you will have a cam on bottom of the tandem breaker that will fit in.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
kontoose (07-15-2012)
Old 07-15-2012, 10:12 PM   #18
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 0
Default

replacing a 60 A double slot breaker with 2 30s


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
Is this breaker box is 20-30 or staight 30 space panel?

If your door cover mention 20-30 then the bottom 5 row are used for tandem breakers and by the way the QO tandems they do come in 2 differnt verison of tandem breaker so becarefull picking the correct one and your panel is CTL verison so you will have a cam on bottom of the tandem breaker that will fit in.

Merci,
Marc
Label says 20-30.
Code05 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Code05 For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (07-15-2012)
Old 07-15-2012, 10:18 PM   #19
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

replacing a 60 A double slot breaker with 2 30s


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
Label says 20-30.
Gotcha ., I have to cheat a little with my monitor to read that print pretty clear.

To OP.,

The answer stand as Code05 mention and you will need CTL tandem breaker as I mention above and it will only be found in bottom five rows and no where else at all.

Also they may be notched on the busbar as well ( that do show up on some QO models )

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 10:38 PM   #20
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

replacing a 60 A double slot breaker with 2 30s


Quote:
Originally Posted by kontoose View Post
Square "D" Q.O. panels, together with their breakers, have no rejection pins that would prevent twin single-pole breakers from being installed. You learn something every day - right...!...
You are no electrician. It doesn't matter if tandems fit in the panel, if the panel or the space in the panel isn't rated to accept tandem breakers you cannot install them.

There are many panels that fit multiple breakers but not all breakers that fit those panels are rated to be installed in those panels.

I guess YOU learn something everyday...right.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
jbfan (07-16-2012), stickboy1375 (07-16-2012)
Old 07-16-2012, 12:19 AM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,269
Rewards Points: 6
Default

replacing a 60 A double slot breaker with 2 30s


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz
No not that tag. The sticker on the inside of the panel door.
Here we go.

Name:  ForumRunner_20120716_011939.jpg
Views: 18
Size:  23.3 KB
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 12:32 AM   #22
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

replacing a 60 A double slot breaker with 2 30s


Without seeing the entire label there, if every space has those dotted lines, then you can install up to 10 tandems in any space in that panel. If those dotted lines are only on the top 5 spaces (on each side), you can only install tandems in those corresponding spaces in the panel.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
amakarevic (07-16-2012)
Old 07-16-2012, 01:31 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 119
Rewards Points: 0
Default

replacing a 60 A double slot breaker with 2 30s


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Without seeing the entire label there, if every space has those dotted lines, then you can install up to 10 tandems in any space in that panel. If those dotted lines are only on the top 5 spaces (on each side), you can only install tandems in those corresponding spaces in the panel.
"...Elementary dear Watson!"
(How many other ways do I have to be proved right...before you find out - that in fact -- "I'm right"...again?; Maynard.
(It must be tough coming in second...all the time.
kontoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 01:42 AM   #24
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

replacing a 60 A double slot breaker with 2 30s


No, you are not right. In fact more often than not, you are limited in where tandems can be installed in a QO panel. The information you gave while MAY be correct in this situation, 9X out of 10, you would be wrong.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 02:07 AM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 119
Rewards Points: 0
Default

replacing a 60 A double slot breaker with 2 30s


I guess you've never had to work this situation "in the field". I've been a troubleshooter for over 20 years...and before that I paid my dues for over 15 years in residential, commercial and Industrial installations. Son, don't tell me I'm wrong nine out of ten times... I was doing better than this when you dropped outta mama. Now suck it up! ...and learn.
kontoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 02:22 PM   #26
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,788
Rewards Points: 8
Default

replacing a 60 A double slot breaker with 2 30s


Quote:
Originally Posted by kontoose View Post
Square "D" panels and breakers do not have rejection pins. Twin breakers can, then, be installed. Live an' learn
So, you have the mentality that if it fits, it is ok to use no matter what the listing says!

No need to learn from a hack!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 02:43 PM   #27
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,550
Rewards Points: 0
Default

replacing a 60 A double slot breaker with 2 30s


Quote:
Originally Posted by kontoose View Post
I guess you've never had to work this situation "in the field". I've been a troubleshooter for over 20 years...and before that I paid my dues for over 15 years in residential, commercial and Industrial installations. Son, don't tell me I'm wrong nine out of ten times... I was doing better than this when you dropped outta mama. Now suck it up! ...and learn.
If that's how you've been approaching your work for the last 20 years, then it's work like yours that makes the next guy shake his head and say, "Who did this?" I've seen it all over in commercial, industrial, and residential projects - but mostly industrial. Work that was clearly done by someone in the trade, but also clearly not to code and often unsafe. You didn't happen to be a plant technician at a Bristol Myers pharmaceutical facility in Indiana, did you? Just because you've been at it for 20 years doesn't make your work any good. Some of the best industrial electricians I worked with were in their 20's, and some of the worst were near retirement.

Your blanket statement along the lines of "If it fits, it's OK" is clearly incorrect at least half of the time, maybe even the 9 out of 10 mentioned. There are about a thousand ways to wire anything, a hundred that will work, and ten that are correct. Just making it work makes you a hack.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 10:43 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 119
Rewards Points: 0
Default

replacing a 60 A double slot breaker with 2 30s


Quote:
Originally Posted by mpoulton View Post
If that's how you've been approaching your work for the last 20 years, then it's work like yours that makes the next guy shake his head and say, "Who did this?" I've seen it all over in commercial, industrial, and residential projects - but mostly industrial. Work that was clearly done by someone in the trade, but also clearly not to code and often unsafe. You didn't happen to be a plant technician at a Bristol Myers pharmaceutical facility in Indiana, did you? Just because you've been at it for 20 years doesn't make your work any good. Some of the best industrial electricians I worked with were in their 20's, and some of the worst were near retirement.

Your blanket statement along the lines of "If it fits, it's OK" is clearly incorrect at least half of the time, maybe even the 9 out of 10 mentioned. There are about a thousand ways to wire anything, a hundred that will work, and ten that are correct. Just making it work makes you a hack.
..I've forgotten more than you think you know right now.

kontoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing QOU Air Handler Breaker, help please... Ralph III HVAC 2 03-14-2012 12:39 AM
replacing a breaker lgburke Electrical 1 09-26-2010 10:36 PM
Replacing a breaker Daggerhart Electrical 19 03-15-2010 11:38 AM
Wierd Double Pole Breaker Occurance rlemar Electrical 5 02-16-2010 09:43 PM
single vs. double breaker Neil_K Electrical 3 11-14-2004 11:02 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.