Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-14-2012, 05:17 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,231
Share |
Default

replacing a 60 A double slot breaker with 2 30s


I am getting rid of my elec stove replacing it with gas and would like to use the double slot for the basement apartment countertop range and water heater, each 30A, I believe. But the problem is that i am out of slots in my panel and this will free up only two adjacent slots. 30A breakers also require a double slot. I was wondering if there is a solution, like those single breakers that support two circuits.

See attached. The 60A circuit is on top.

Thanks

Name:  ForumRunner_20120714_181635.jpg
Views: 57
Size:  30.1 KB

amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 05:24 PM   #2
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,647
Default

replacing a 60 A double slot breaker with 2 30s


Quote:
Originally Posted by amakarevic View Post
I am getting rid of my elec stove replacing it with gas
and would like to use the double slot for the basement apartment
That's fine. Remove the WIRES which are fed by that breaker.

Quote:
...countertop range and water heater
I was wondering if there is a solution
Yeah. Use that 60A breaker to feed a small subpanel.
I'd put any/all tenant circuits in there that can be accommodated...
and keep the upstairs & general use stuff (water heater?) in the first panel.

TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 05:37 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,231
Default

replacing a 60 A double slot breaker with 2 30s


Quote:
Originally Posted by TarheelTerp View Post
Yeah. Use that 60A breaker to feed a small subpanel.
oh but that's more work than i want to do right now. i will eventually split the house in two meters and will do it then.
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 06:10 PM   #4
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,647
Default

replacing a 60 A double slot breaker with 2 30s


Quote:
Originally Posted by amakarevic View Post
oh but that's more work than i want to do right now. i will eventually split the house in two meters and will do it then.
I'm reminded of a quote...
Never put off till tomorrow what you can do the day after tomorrow-Mark Twain
Oops! Lets try this one:
Never put off till tomorrow that which you can do today. -Benjamin Franklin
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 06:29 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,231
Default

replacing a 60 A double slot breaker with 2 30s


thank you for your wisdom, sir, i am in a time crunch, i may go bankrupt if i try to do everything the perfect way rather than focus on wrapping the project up.

so a subpanel is out of question at this time.

thanks
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 08:00 PM   #6
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,335
Default

replacing a 60 A double slot breaker with 2 30s


1) Is your panel rated from tandem breakers? (post a picture of the sticker on the inside door of your panel)

2) Is there a detailed list of what is on each circuit? You could possibly double up some lighter circuits.

3) Gas water heater.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 07:10 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,838
Default

replacing a 60 A double slot breaker with 2 30s


A 240 volt water heater and a 240 volt countertop stove still need double wide breakers. Other circuits would have to be moved to single wide double breakers. You might find a double wide quad tandem breaker with handles 1 and 4 tied together for one 240 volt circuit and handles 2 and 3 tied together for another 240 volt circuit.

In addition to the requirement that the panel and the specific breaker be compatible, each panel has a limit to the number of breaker handles where a double breaker counts as two handles.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 01:55 PM   #8
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,520
Default

replacing a 60 A double slot breaker with 2 30s


If your panel accepts them, you could use a 30/30 quad breaker. But a subpanel sounds like the best solution. It's hardly any more work and only a little bit more money.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 02:01 PM   #9
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

replacing a 60 A double slot breaker with 2 30s


Quote:
Originally Posted by mpoulton View Post
If your panel accepts them, you could use a 30/30 quad breaker. But a subpanel sounds like the best solution. It's hardly any more work and only a little bit more money.
I think that panel is a SQ-D QO, I am doubtful the OP will find a quad 30/30, but maybe.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 03:16 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Central Coast, Cali
Posts: 105
Default

replacing a 60 A double slot breaker with 2 30s


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
I think that panel is a SQ-D QO, I am doubtful the OP will find a quad 30/30, but maybe.
The only quad breaker currently manufactured for a QO panel is a 20303020, where the 20's are untied, so you are correct that OP is out of luck.
LooseSCruz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 03:53 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 119
Default

replacing a 60 A double slot breaker with 2 30s


The quickest and cheapest way is to take out four 20amp single-pole breakers, install two twin 20/20amp breakers in their place, and attach the four circuit wires to these two twin breakers. Now you will have created two free breaker spaces. Now, take out the 60amp breaker. This will leave you with four open spaces. You can now install the two new 30amp 2-pole breakers for the water heater and stove top.

Last edited by kontoose; 07-15-2012 at 03:53 PM. Reason: Typo.
kontoose is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kontoose For This Useful Post:
amakarevic (07-15-2012)
Old 07-15-2012, 06:12 PM   #12
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,634
Default

replacing a 60 A double slot breaker with 2 30s


Quote:
Originally Posted by kontoose View Post
The quickest and cheapest way is to take out four 20amp single-pole breakers, install two twin 20/20amp breakers in their place, and attach the four circuit wires to these two twin breakers. Now you will have created two free breaker spaces. Now, take out the 60amp breaker. This will leave you with four open spaces. You can now install the two new 30amp 2-pole breakers for the water heater and stove top.
Without the panel info, we do not know if this panel will accept tandom breakers.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
Code05 (07-15-2012), stickboy1375 (07-15-2012)
Old 07-15-2012, 08:57 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,231
Default

replacing a 60 A double slot breaker with 2 30s


Here is the tag. Thanks.

Class CTL-- Panelboard Series L8

Name:  ForumRunner_20120715_215644.jpg
Views: 48
Size:  28.9 KB
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 09:44 PM   #14
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,335
Default

replacing a 60 A double slot breaker with 2 30s


No not that tag. The sticker on the inside of the panel door.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 10:03 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 119
Default

replacing a 60 A double slot breaker with 2 30s


Square "D" Q.O. panels, together with their breakers, have no rejection pins that would prevent twin single-pole breakers from being installed. You learn something every day - right...!...

kontoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing QOU Air Handler Breaker, help please... Ralph III HVAC 2 03-14-2012 12:39 AM
replacing a breaker lgburke Electrical 1 09-26-2010 10:36 PM
Replacing a breaker Daggerhart Electrical 19 03-15-2010 11:38 AM
Wierd Double Pole Breaker Occurance rlemar Electrical 5 02-16-2010 09:43 PM
single vs. double breaker Neil_K Electrical 3 11-14-2004 11:02 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.