Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-10-2012, 04:36 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 28
Share |
Default

Replacing 240V fuses for dryer


So my dryer stopped heating but still tumbles. At the 4 prong socket I'm only getting 50 or 60v. I checked all the glass fuses for continuity- I think they are fine. There is a glass fuse box with a 230v 60a black holder that pulls out, inside there were 2 40a 250v fuses. These are not blown, but do show some resistance. Is it safe to replace these with the same (or are the fuses not the problem and they can only be blown/not blown?) or should I get 30a fuses? Or should I get a gas dryer ?

Mark77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 04:48 PM   #2
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,647
Default

Replacing 240V fuses for dryer


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark77 View Post
At the 4 prong socket I'm only getting 50 or 60v.
Does your home have a circuit breaker panel of fuses?
What is the dryer fed from?

TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 05:23 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,360
Default

Replacing 240V fuses for dryer


Those main fuses should show -0- resistance. Any other reading means you have a bad connection or blown fuses ...
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 05:36 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 28
Default

Replacing 240V fuses for dryer





Hmm I think my question is going to change... It seems that the dryer is actually being fed by that circuit breaker marked D/R, which comes off the main service breaker (marked 50A). The glass fuse panel runs from that, and that black pull out thing with the cartridge fuses I was asking about must be for the oven. So I guess the D/R circuit was added after? i shut it off, and the dryer socket is dead. I turn it back on, back to about 50V. Could it or the socket or the wiring be fried?

Last edited by Mark77; 01-10-2012 at 07:02 PM.
Mark77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 06:58 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 28
Default

Replacing 240V fuses for dryer


When testing the socket,
putting the probes in on each side shows about 50v.
if i put the red probe in the right side, and touch the top or bottom hole with the black I get about 125v.
if i put the red probe in the left side, and touch top or bottom hole I get 0 (or pretty close to it- its an analog meter)
Mark77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 07:03 PM   #6
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,647
Default

Replacing 240V fuses for dryer


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark77 View Post
if i put the red probe in the right side, and touch the top or bottom hole with the black I get about 125v. Good
if i put the red probe in the left side, and touch top or bottom hole I get 0 (or pretty close to it- its an analog meter)Not Good
Hot to ground (red or black) should be 125V
Hot to hot should be 240V
You appear to have lost a leg.

Going back to the fuse box... can you identify HOW that wire is being fed?
There should be TWO fuses... one for each leg.
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TarheelTerp For This Useful Post:
Mark77 (01-11-2012)
Old 01-10-2012, 07:06 PM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,634
Default

Replacing 240V fuses for dryer


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark77 View Post
When testing the socket,
putting the probes in on each side shows about 50v.
if i put the red probe in the right side, and touch the top or bottom hole with the black I get about 125v.
if i put the red probe in the left side, and touch top or bottom hole I get 0 (or pretty close to it- its an analog meter)
You have lost that leg.
Have you reset the breaker?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
Mark77 (01-11-2012)
Old 01-10-2012, 07:07 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 28
Default

Replacing 240V fuses for dryer


If you look at the top picture, that breaker marked D/R below the service panel shuts off all power to the socket. I don't think the fuse box is feeding the dryer at all? or could that breaker only be 1 leg?? i didn't check each side with it off, just hot to hot.
Mark77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 07:10 PM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,634
Default

Replacing 240V fuses for dryer


Since you do not have full power at the receptacle, you need to check back at the breaker.
If you are not comfortable looking in the panel, you will have to call an electrician.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 07:11 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 28
Default

Replacing 240V fuses for dryer


i reset the breaker a couple of times tonight when i was checking the socket,
and i have reset the main service breaker yesterday when I was trying to figure it out..
is there an order I should do it in?
Mark77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 07:24 PM   #11
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,634
Default

Replacing 240V fuses for dryer


You have to work back from the receptacle.
This means checking the the power at the breaker.
Do you have any other 240 loads?
Are you haveing any other electrcial problems?

It is up to you to decide if you want to work in the panel.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 07:26 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 28
Default

Replacing 240V fuses for dryer


I think I found it!
I didn't realize that D/R breaker actually contained glass fuses (2x30A). It was sort of stuck shut before.
Sure enough.. 1 of them is blown.. the other shows wavering 1-2Ohm resistance so I'm off to find replacements for both.
Mark77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 07:30 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 28
Default

Replacing 240V fuses for dryer


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
You have to work back from the receptacle.
This means checking the the power at the breaker.
Do you have any other 240 loads?
Are you haveing any other electrcial problems?

It is up to you to decide if you want to work in the panel.
The other 240 load is our oven, which i assume runs from the cartridge fuses in the black thing in the glass fuse panel. Sometimes it does have problems getting up to full heat actually.. I'm thinking I should replace those fuses as well since they were showing some resistance..
If the dryer and oven are on at the same time, and we start the microwave, the service breaker pops.
Mark77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 07:34 PM   #14
Floor Sweeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central MN
Posts: 353
Default

Replacing 240V fuses for dryer


Now to find out why it blew in the first place. Some of the possiblities could be there is a problem with the dryer heating element which you will find if the fuse blows again when you go to use the dryer, but I've also seen fuses blow because the fuse wasn't making good contact with the socket contacts- poor contact causes heat that thermally melts the fuse.

If you don't mind me asking, what is in the black cabinet above the dryer fusebox?
junkcollector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 09:06 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 28
Default

Replacing 240V fuses for dryer


Quote:
Originally Posted by junkcollector View Post
Now to find out why it blew in the first place. Some of the possiblities could be there is a problem with the dryer heating element which you will find if the fuse blows again when you go to use the dryer, but I've also seen fuses blow because the fuse wasn't making good contact with the socket contacts- poor contact causes heat that thermally melts the fuse.

If you don't mind me asking, what is in the black cabinet above the dryer fusebox?
Well I replaced the 2 fuses and it seems to be working again.. just going to do a test run now. Could the fuses have blown from age? They seemed pretty old.. And one of them wasn't exactly blown but the Ohm meter was wavering all over the place. Or possibly from multiple trips of the service breaker from having too much going at once? I'm pretty sure a dryer overload could do it which also may have happened..


Going to be very careful not to run the dryer with the oven or microwave on or much else.. I probably will look into getting a gas dryer since it is right beside the furnace anyway and the lines are right there. Don't want to upgrade our electrical system right now as we're planning major renovation (possibly building a whole new house) in the next couple years.


The black cabinet:

and its got a bunch of wires inside didnt take a pic

Mark77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help installing new 240V oven DanDaMan Electrical 27 01-02-2012 01:12 PM
240v questions.... ITSANSS Electrical 16 05-11-2011 05:40 PM
240v conduit with different gauge wires... Biospot Electrical 7 12-14-2010 07:07 PM
Replacing 240V Wall Heater with 240V Base Board Heater jasoncw Electrical 7 11-26-2010 10:39 AM
Do you think a tool running at 240v works better than at 120v? Piedmont Electrical 39 07-03-2009 09:50 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.