Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-17-2010, 02:47 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: CA
Posts: 47
Share |
Default

Replacing a 20a breaker


The oven in my kitchen consistently trips its breaker when using the "speed convection" setting (a cycle that uses top,bottom and rear elements, plus a fan). All other oven settings do not trip.

The existing breaker in my interior panel is a dual 10a,ganged. I checked the oven's installation manual, which mandates a 30a breaker.

Is this a case of swapping out the 2x10a for a 30amp breaker? Or do I have wiring concerns?

Assuming I juist need to swap the breaker, is this an easy task?

SixStrRzr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 03:08 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,831
Default

Replacing a 20a breaker


The breaker cannot be changed to whatever you want it to be. The breaker must be sized to the size of the conductor it is protecting. Not sure how you could have a 2x10 breaker in he first place.

brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 03:31 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: CA
Posts: 47
Default

Replacing a 20a breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
The breaker cannot be changed to whatever you want it to be. The breaker must be sized to the size of the conductor it is protecting. Not sure how you could have a 2x10 breaker in he first place.
Figured I'd need to provide more details, after I posted. I will get the model #'s of existing tonite. If I remember right, it's a double breaker "ganged" together, with a "10" on each.

It's a 10 y/o house in CA...I am assuming that this is the dedicated oven line; when the breaker trips, the oven is the only thing that goes out.
SixStrRzr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 04:00 PM   #4
Journeyman Wireman
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Portland, OR USA
Posts: 188
Default

Replacing a 20a breaker


Yeah, double check the breaker size. I've never seen a 2 pole 10 amp breaker. Maybe it's a 2 pole 40 amp with some of the writing rubbed off? See if you can determine the actual wire size and type (copper or aluminum) attached to the breaker.
Jupe Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 11:02 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: CA
Posts: 47
Default

Replacing a 20a breaker


OK, there are two (2) red wires going to the oven's dual breaker in the interior sub-panel. Most of the rest are black. (The Dryer circuit also has red.)

Can I assume the red wires are of sufficient size to accept 30a breakers?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jupe Blue View Post
Yeah, double check the breaker size. I've never seen a 2 pole 10 amp breaker. Maybe it's a 2 pole 40 amp with some of the writing rubbed off? See if you can determine the actual wire size and type (copper or aluminum) attached to the breaker.
SixStrRzr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 11:09 AM   #6
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,831
Default

Replacing a 20a breaker


You cannot asume anything. Breaker size is base on the ampacity of the wire in most cases. What size is the wire?
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 12:17 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: CA
Posts: 47
Default

Replacing a 20a breaker


Yes, a friend just told me that. I will get the wire size from the Romex jacket (10/2, 12/2. etc.) and advise.


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
You cannot asume anything. Breaker size is base on the ampacity of the wire in most cases. What size is the wire?

SixStrRzr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing 2 Sub Panels with 1 Larger Panel GuitarJack Electrical 7 08-25-2009 08:43 PM
small voltage on circuit with breaker off jasonmechler Electrical 3 08-24-2009 08:52 AM
Need help, breaker unstable Atroxx Electrical 16 08-08-2009 10:53 AM
I can "double" the wires to each breaker in my breaker panel right? Piedmont Electrical 40 10-01-2008 11:18 AM
How Does A Double Pole Circuit Breaker Trip? shadowx360 Electrical 2 07-09-2008 02:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.