Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-20-2010, 02:51 PM   #1
iya
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 13
Share |
Question

Replacing 12/2 with 12/3 behind wall


Hi all. I want to replace a 12/2 running behind my wall to a 12/3.. I know it goes through one stud, but I don't know how big a hole was drilled in there. The idea of "fishing" is daunting to me, so I guess my question is, would it be possible to tape the end of the new 12/3 to the end of the old 12/2, and then pull it through, so the new one would take the old one's place?

I'm trying to do this without having to take sections of my wall out :P

iya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 03:05 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,497
Default

Replacing 12/2 with 12/3 behind wall


Generally cables are required to be secured within 8-12" of the box. When run parallel to studs no more than 4'-6" between staples.

I don't think using the old cable as a pull string will work for you.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 03:14 PM   #3
iya
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 13
Default

Replacing 12/2 with 12/3 behind wall


Thanks for the quick reply, Jim Port. I guess I'll have to put more thought into this, then.
iya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 04:54 PM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,497
Default

Replacing 12/2 with 12/3 behind wall


You might be able to pull the baseboard and notch the drywall and then drill your holes.

You also might be able to go down and then back up if you have access below the floor.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 05:29 PM   #5
iya
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 13
Default

Replacing 12/2 with 12/3 behind wall


Actually, this is what I'm trying to do.. The disposal unit is hardwired. It's one 12/2 straight from the switch on the wall to the upper left side of the sink, went down, then through a stud, to the right basin where the unit is attached. I want to get this set-up:


thus the replacing 12/2 with a 12/3..
I've considered just using one of those.. raceways? Like the molding things.. to cover outside-wall wiring, but I don't know how acceptable that would be in the kitchen..
iya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 06:35 PM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,497
Default

Replacing 12/2 with 12/3 behind wall


Does the switch box have the to white connected together? If so you could run a two wire cable from the switch box to the DW.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 07:00 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,922
Default

Replacing 12/2 with 12/3 behind wall


Cables fished through walls or ceilings do not have to be fastened to studs, etc.

The old 12-2 cable installed before the drywall was put on will have been fastened to the studs and therefore could not be used as a pull string for the 12-3 cable.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 06-20-2010 at 07:08 PM.
AllanJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 07:08 PM   #8
iya
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 13
Default

Replacing 12/2 with 12/3 behind wall


Jim Port - Actually, yes - at the switchbox, the grounds and whites are pigtailed, while the blacks are on the switch. I suppose that IS the easiest way to do it - just wire the DW separately.

AllanJ - if I do not have to fasten to studs, do I at least have to secure them to the box itself?

Another question - The house was built in `72; could the receptacle box used then possibly not have prepunched knockout holes? I wasn't able to see any, but it could just be that it was pretty.. rusty.. in there. That's what made me think of replacing the 12/2 with 12/3 - i won't need new holes It was pretty solid-looking metal to me, so without those prepunched KOs, I'd need some good muscle to start another one for new wires.
iya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 07:51 PM   #9
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,497
Default

Replacing 12/2 with 12/3 behind wall


The knockout should be punched. You would just need to pry or push the tab out of the hole.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to determine if wall is load bearing Tonglebeak Building & Construction 26 01-20-2010 11:26 PM
Replacing Landscaping Tie Retaining Wall omnic Landscaping & Lawn Care 1 05-01-2009 05:14 PM
Replacing wall light. schnitz411 Electrical 5 04-28-2009 05:36 PM
Wall - LOAD BEARING: How to Move? user49172 Building & Construction 1 03-11-2009 04:48 PM
12/2 vs. 12/3 Suncrest79 Electrical 2 03-07-2009 02:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.