Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-29-2012, 07:51 PM   #31
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,878
Rewards Points: 2,110
Default

Replacement of my old FP main with a new QO


Quote:
Originally Posted by Knauer View Post
2/0 aluminum for a 200a service?
Looks like 4/0 to me. Must be a typo.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 08:20 PM   #32
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,837
Rewards Points: 2,472
Default

Replacement of my old FP main with a new QO


Quote:
Originally Posted by Macro View Post
It looks like it may be too short to move. You passed inspection, it's fine
So if a violation is missed by an inspector everything is fine? I don't think so.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 08:35 PM   #33
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,837
Rewards Points: 2,472
Default

Replacement of my old FP main with a new QO


Not an argument. Just stating that if something is wrong it is wrong whether it was caught by the inspector or not. A green sticker does not make it compliant.

I don't know why you would to defend a known code violation.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 08:38 PM   #34
Member
 
kevinp22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 323
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Replacement of my old FP main with a new QO


N8,

I know I am obsessive but knowing I followed code except for 1 thing would really bother me. I would figure out the right answer with that double lug connection and stay with it until its resolved:

1. if it is listed for 2 wires of that size, you are done
2. if not, if one will fit on the neutral bus, call your inspector and let him know you need to move it. he might say okay over the phone
3. if it wont fit, you may need to add another bus bar -- i have never done this so i cant advise how. I am 99.9% sure you cannot splice the ground wire(s) to make it longer

good luck
kevinp22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 08:41 PM   #35
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,837
Rewards Points: 2,472
Default

Replacement of my old FP main with a new QO


The GEC to an electrode cannot be spliced except by irreversible crimps or an exothermic weld.

A #4 will fit in the bus.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
kevinp22 (05-29-2012)
Old 05-29-2012, 08:46 PM   #36
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,837
Rewards Points: 2,472
Default

Replacement of my old FP main with a new QO


By no means am I in a bad mood. I just don't like when someone tries to justify something that is obviously not code compliant and to seemingly brag about it.

I will say that the person would be walking home after trying that crap on my job.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 08:52 PM   #37
Member
 
kevinp22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 323
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Replacement of my old FP main with a new QO


it is not splied currently. Jim was adding clarity to my post that talked about what to do if the ground wires are either too short to reach or too big to fit into the existing neutral bus
kevinp22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 08:58 PM   #38
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,837
Rewards Points: 2,472
Default

Replacement of my old FP main with a new QO


I am sorry that you feel that supplying a correct and Code compliant answer to someone would crap the thread up. Excuse me for being a stickler and doing things correctly.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 09:18 PM   #39
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,837
Rewards Points: 2,472
Default

Replacement of my old FP main with a new QO


I hardly consider supplying correct information as challenging someones post.

Two conductors in a lug made for one conductor is a violation.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 09:25 PM   #40
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,837
Rewards Points: 2,472
Default

Replacement of my old FP main with a new QO


But yet you try to say it is fine since the inspector failed to see the violation and gave the job a green sticker.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 09:48 PM   #41
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,837
Rewards Points: 2,472
Default

Replacement of my old FP main with a new QO


It may not be the worst violation of the code but it is still one none the less.

Your opinion is not supported by the code. Article 110.3(B) says that thing must be used as they are listed. Article 110.14(A) says that terminal for multiple conductors need to be identified as such.

I do not advise the OP to change this with the power on. I simply pointed out that it was incorrect.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 09:53 PM   #42
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,078
Rewards Points: 3,816
Default

Replacement of my old FP main with a new QO


This is a friendly site. Lets keep it that way.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 09:55 PM   #43
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 123
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Replacement of my old FP main with a new QO


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
It may not be the worst violation of the code but it is still one none the less.
Again, that was established many times 2 pages ago.
Quote:
Your opinion is not supported by the code.
I never said that it was. I did say that J-walking wasn't supported by the law, but I still do it.

Quote:
Article 110.3(B) says that thing must be used as they are listed. Article 110.14(A) says that terminal for multiple conductors need to be identified as such.
Since you want to quote code for some strange reason, tell me the code article that requires an existing installation that passed inspection to be changed?
Quote:
I do not advise the OP to change this with the power on. I simply pointed out that it was incorrect.
We've known it was incorrect long before you decided to start another argument. No one said it was code compliant. I said that it is fine the way it is given the circumstances, and it is.

It passed inspection, it's not a safety issue, it's fine- as I said.

But you can keep arguing
Macro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 07:08 AM   #44
Chaos Engineer
 
Big N8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Coon Rapids MN
Posts: 183
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Replacement of my old FP main with a new QO


HHHMMMM lots of action in my thread here that is unbecoming.

To talk about the the two grounds under the ground lug. I had enough wire to get it to the neutral bar that is bonded to the box. So code compliant? not sure. Inspection passed yes. I called the inspector and he just asked me if it was still going to be grounded to the water main and a ground rod. I told him yes and the conversation was over with a passed inspection still in place.
Big N8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 07:49 AM   #45
Member
 
kevinp22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 323
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Replacement of my old FP main with a new QO


Big N8, congrats you are done.i thought it might just be a phone call.

yes it is code compliant to have the ground wires attached to neutral in a main panel. in fact, many panels dont have a ground lug and the neutral bar is the only place to attach these wires.

just fyi, rules for subpanels are different.

congrats on your project

kevinp22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DWV remodel. Can I do this with my main? antalamo Plumbing 0 03-19-2011 10:29 AM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 12:36 PM
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 08:40 PM
Dual Main Breakers dcwestcott Electrical 3 02-23-2009 08:26 PM
Arced main lug in service panel burgeke Electrical 4 11-02-2006 12:28 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.