Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-16-2012, 11:50 PM   #16
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Replacement of my old FP main with a new QO


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston
Some reason here they require a #4 ground wire and that goes from the panel to both rods and then returns to the panel I just checked the document from the POCO and that is what they require. It's strange how much everything varies depending on where you live.
And to think that you live in NY!! Who's your poco?

__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 11:57 PM   #17
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Replacement of my old FP main with a new QO


Quote:
Originally Posted by julius793 View Post
and to think that you live in ny!! Who's your poco?
nyseg
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 06:14 AM   #18
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

Replacement of my old FP main with a new QO


Some require #4 to rods simply for the added physical protection.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 06:19 AM   #19
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Replacement of my old FP main with a new QO


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey
Some require #4 to rods simply for the added physical protection.
How about the loop?
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 05:54 PM   #20
Chaos Engineer
 
Big N8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Coon Rapids MN
Posts: 183
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Replacement of my old FP main with a new QO


Ok everyone. Thanks for all the good advice. I called the city inspector today to get all the information I would need right from the horses mouth. He told me ther would be no need to put Arc Fault breakers in if I am only replacing an existing panel. As long as my house was built to code at the time he would only require me to come up to code on the panel. He did say the only thing that would cause him to fail an inspection is if there are other blatant violations. He also said he would stop by my house and look before I pull the socket in case I would need to fix other things.

He is a very nice guy and understands that i am not just your average diyer looking to cut the cost of a repair. He said based on the conversation we had that he is very confident in my ability to do this project and like to see homeowners that understand the systems around the house.
Big N8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 06:36 PM   #21
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,911
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Replacement of my old FP main with a new QO


Quote:
Originally Posted by Big N8 View Post
Just got off the phone with the utility company. They informed me that all underground service (I have underground) would be rated to a minimum of 200amps. So that is good to go.

As for the ground I have two locations now one to the copper water pipe one to a ground rod outside. From what I have found I would need to have at least a 4 awg wire for ground to both locations with at least three straps to the water pipe. the outside ground would only need to have one but it would need to be protected.

Anything with what i am saying sounds funny off wrong please tell me.
Get utilities located before youi start banging those ground rods in around an underground service
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to plummen For This Useful Post:
Ravenworks (05-29-2012)
Old 02-20-2012, 07:50 PM   #22
Pure Genius
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dayton OH
Posts: 223
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Replacement of my old FP main with a new QO


Be careful in your meter socket. Make sure your poco kills your power at the transformer. If they only pull your meter you better be careful refeeding your meter socket. Also a trick I use is mark what phase each circuit was on. Things like california 3 ways can cause havoc on you if put back under the incorrect phase. Oh and watch out for gas lines and footer tiles when driving ground rods.

Last edited by Dierte; 02-20-2012 at 07:51 PM. Reason: Oh
Dierte is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Dierte For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (02-21-2012), plummen (02-20-2012)
Old 05-29-2012, 01:22 PM   #23
Chaos Engineer
 
Big N8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Coon Rapids MN
Posts: 183
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Replacement of my old FP main with a new QO


Updated
Finally got my electrical panel updated this past weekend.

I had a Federal Pacific Stab Lock 150amp.



This panel had a lot of issues with it. For one they lost the UL rating and the breakers have been known to both not trip or arch out at the panel causing fires.
Another shot.



I swapped in a new Square D QO 200amp panel I got at Lowes in a kit with five breakers. It was a good deal at $120. It can handle 30 breakers with ten of them being tandem for a total of 40 spaces.

Here is a shot of the feeder lines 2/0 wires I had to trim shorter to fit the new panel. You can see the anti ox paste that must be used when connecting AL wire to other metals.



Here are all the lines attached and torqued down. The two phases on the outside and the nutral and ground bonded in the middle.



This is just a shot of the panel plug I put on. I went with a four-plex box and will put two duplex receptacles in it. The box is a deep box so I donít get too crowded in there. I will also be splicing my doorbell in here.

This is a shot of everything all done. I had some short wires and had to make it work. I will be rerunning some of the lines to clean it up a bit. But I had to have the power company pull my meter to do this and had to just get it done in the time I had. The inspector looked at this and gave me the seal and said it was all good to go.



Here it is with the door on. I have labeled all of the lines now that is not shown in the pic. You can see the Green inspection tag on the door.


Last edited by Big N8; 05-29-2012 at 01:25 PM.
Big N8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 02:31 PM   #24
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,699
Rewards Points: 2,196
Default

Replacement of my old FP main with a new QO


Your inspector should have caught the two grounding wires in the lug that is only for one.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
jbfan (05-29-2012), plummen (05-29-2012)
Old 05-29-2012, 02:40 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 123
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Replacement of my old FP main with a new QO


Quote:
Originally Posted by Julius793 View Post
How about the loop?
At the last school I worked at we had to install 3 ground rods in a triangle array (Triad) and connect both ends in the tranny.
Macro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 02:43 PM   #26
Member
 
kevinp22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 323
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Replacement of my old FP main with a new QO


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Your inspector should have caught the two grounding wires in the lug that is only for one.
Jim,

your right that really sticks out. I am a non-electrician who has never done a panel change and as I looked enviously at the new service and panel I was thinking "what's up with the two wires in that one ground terminal"

Big B8,

If it were me I would relocate the wire going to the rods to a large terminal on the neutral but you might have to move whichever has sufficient length to reach the neutral bar. However, if you change anything that might trigger a new inspection requirement.

Kevin
kevinp22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 02:44 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 123
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Replacement of my old FP main with a new QO


Big N8. Nice work on the panel. As for the wires that are short, you can splice a piece of wire on to make it long enough. However, in your case, it looks like you can just relocate where the wire goes in order to make it nice and neat. Such as that black on the left side, you can move all the other circuits down a spot and put that one short black into the top space.
Macro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 02:51 PM   #28
Chaos Engineer
 
Big N8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Coon Rapids MN
Posts: 183
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Replacement of my old FP main with a new QO


Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinp22 View Post
Jim,

your right that really sticks out. I am a non-electrician who has never done a panel change and as I looked enviously at the new service and panel I was thinking "what's up with the two wires in that one ground terminal"

Big B8,

If it were me I would relocate the wire going to the rods to a large terminal on the neutral but you might have to move whichever has sufficient length to reach the neutral bar. However, if you change anything that might trigger a new inspection requirement.

Kevin
HHMMMM wounder why he didn't bring that up? I can move one the the ground bar then it should be good to go.


First time doing a full panel swap and there was a lot of learning going on.
Big N8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 03:07 PM   #29
Member
 
kevinp22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 323
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Replacement of my old FP main with a new QO


Quote:
Originally Posted by Big N8 View Post
HHMMMM wounder why he didn't bring that up? I can move one the the ground bar then it should be good to go.


First time doing a full panel swap and there was a lot of learning going on.
We probably should have said check the instructions and or the sticker on the side of the panel to make 100% sure it is not rated for 2 ground wires (it probably isnt)

you mean moving it to the neutral bar, right?

Also, I cant tell from the picture but you bonded the neutral bar to the enclosure, correct?
kevinp22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 06:36 PM   #30
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 25
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Replacement of my old FP main with a new QO


2/0 aluminum for a 200a service?

Knauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DWV remodel. Can I do this with my main? antalamo Plumbing 0 03-19-2011 09:29 AM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 11:36 AM
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
Dual Main Breakers dcwestcott Electrical 3 02-23-2009 07:26 PM
Arced main lug in service panel burgeke Electrical 4 11-02-2006 11:28 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.