Replacement Meter Panel - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-08-2008, 04:27 PM   #16
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Replacement Meter Panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by leonard_voet View Post
I am an ASE Certified Master Auto Tech with over 30 years experience
And that has what to do with electrical work?
Sorry, I couldn't resist.

Advertisement

jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2008, 05:11 PM   #17
<FavTool>BFH</FavTool>
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Send a message via Yahoo to leonard_voet
Default

Replacement Meter Panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by jrclen View Post
And that has what to do with electrical work?
Sorry, I couldn't resist.

Sure does. Cars are full of electricity (and plumbing, and heating and air conditioning, and motors, and transformers and switches and breakers and electronic devices).

Does that make me an expert, hell no and I'm not pretending to be an expert, but it does provide insight to my technical abilities. Hopefully, I don't come off as a smart-a$$ know it all either.

I do have a pro coming out tomorrow to survey the damage.

I feel for the guy. More than once, I've had someone tow their car into the shop, with a box of parts and say "I took my car apart and can't seem to put it back-together - can you please fix my screw up?"

I get it -
leonard_voet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2008, 06:14 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Replacement Meter Panel


Skip the sub panel and use a full 40 space panel. $130 bucks.

In my area they ALWAYS allow the romex to be sleeved outside......but it is against code. NEC considers inside the conduit to be a "wet location" if it's outside and romex isn't reated for wet locations.

Double check with them first.

Be sure and leave a couple inches of sheath on the romex into the panel.

I think you can do it. A good mechanic is a good mechanic. In your case, you will be able to complete a lot of the work ahead of time since you are relocating the service.

Keep in mind that your ufer or ground rods will have to connect to the new meter/panel along with your water and gas bond.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 08:11 AM   #19
Sparrky
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Northern California
Posts: 79
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Replacement Meter Panel


Leonard...Roger..I see that you are good to go mechanically

* I still stress the NUMERO UNO item to be taken care of is
knowing what actual load you are really using before adding anymore

* adding a 240v 50amp per leg inrush load...WILL affect the current load

* this is the one simple step that saves a bunch of grief later . .I have
seen too too many times . . . .additions to the panel/load . . .just like
this..add Lo & Behold when we have sucessfully completed all of the
mechanical aspects of the work . . .we dropped the ball on the very
first electrical requirement

and then the breaker / breakers start tripping

and then a larger service is required and we tear out
quite a bit of what was mechanically swell but electrically
insufficient


do this first before you do anything else . .so you'll know
where you are at ELECTRICALLY . .if after powering up the house
IE lights TV's washer / dryewr/ AV must be running . .AND read
amperage on the inrushes

if you are anywheres near ...say 70% of the dervice connected to
your home and you are not CURRENTLY popping breakers

you must make an electrically sound decision / with all new loads
and inrushes factored in before plunging ahead


I wont bother you with the Call I got from wealthy fella
with gorgeous home on the Golf course . . large wonderful home . .
actually had the inground pool installed.....the spa...the BBQ...some fairly
elaborate exterior lighting . .had the GC I work with at times . .build
all of this . . . . . . .stationed the pool and pump equipment . .over 70
feet away from the pool/spa . .massive inrush to start pushing that
water


then called me to hook it all up to the main panel

needless to say..after I told him what would have to
transpire ( need and much larger service ) I had to
scrap him off of the ceiling.

he did not have me do the work . . .he had someone
the GC knew patch it into the existing panel

I got a call from the GC..wondering what I could do
about the main breaker tripping incessantly . .I relayed the
above paragraph to him


pool/spa/BBQ...party lighting is now non-functional
awaiting the new and much larger service



Leonard..you have a meter..seriously load the house
and obtain those readings,,you'll be happy you did
Kingsmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 11:27 AM   #20
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Replacement Meter Panel


If you have breakers tripping due to in-rush current, you have more problems than meet the eye.

Advertisement

jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 04:03 PM
Panel Replacement former33t Electrical 5 02-22-2008 08:50 PM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 08:37 AM
New meter panel tomreva Electrical 3 01-08-2008 04:56 PM
meter to service panel mikim Electrical 5 05-04-2007 06:34 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts