Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-01-2010, 05:48 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Dallas
Posts: 15
Share |
Default

Replaced some switches and outlets, now some lights don't work


We're doing some light remodeling in our kitchen, family room, and breakfast area, and yesterday I replaced 10 outlets, 4 regular switches, and three pair of 3-way switches (6 ttl). This house was built in '89.

Everything seemed to go pretty well, but today, we noticed that three lights in another part of the house don't work.. the utility room, hallway, and front porch exterior light.

Hmm, I checked the breakers, even flipping them all off, and back on again just to be sure. I checked the wiring in many of the new switches, it all looks good too. I checked the three GFCI circuits in our home, they are all reset properly, and work.

The only thing I can think of is that I may have reversed the three way switch wiring somewhere. Unlikely, but possible. There is a red wire, and two black wires. One of the black wires has a loop formed in it, and it goes to the Common terminal on the switch (bottom). This is only on one side of the switch the two instances that I checked.

One of the three way switches is in a double box with another single switch, and has an additional black wire running through (looped through, not terminating there). Maybe I should try swapping the black wires in that switch?

Any suggestions on this could be, or how to troubleshoot most effectively?

DWooderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 07:36 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Springfield OH
Posts: 764
Default

Replaced some switches and outlets, now some lights don't work


how many of the non-working lights are on a three-way circuit? Of those, do any work with one switch and not the other?

Most likely, I would suspect an illustration of your box wiring (in those switches and lights that do not work) will be very useful in helping out. Hopefully, you have a volt meter for testing purposes.

Sounds like fun!

oberkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 07:40 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Dallas
Posts: 15
Default

Replaced some switches and outlets, now some lights don't work


Problem solved. It wasn't a 3-way switch; I tried flipping the wiring on those, and it just made the lights stay on in all switch positions.

I turned the three inoperative switches to the on position, and then flipped all of the new switches on one by one, and viola, the new switch by the kitchen sink made all three of the inoperable lights come on!

I switched the wires on that switch, and the problem was solved. There were three black wires attached to this switch, two on the slip-in terminals, and one on the screw terminal. That odd-ball wire wasn't getting the constant ground it needed when the switch was in the off position.
DWooderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 12:06 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Replaced some switches and outlets, now some lights don't work


Quote:
Originally Posted by DWooderson View Post
Problem solved. It wasn't a 3-way switch; I tried flipping the wiring on those, and it just made the lights stay on in all switch positions.

I turned the three inoperative switches to the on position, and then flipped all of the new switches on one by one, and viola, the new switch by the kitchen sink made all three of the inoperable lights come on!

I switched the wires on that switch, and the problem was solved. There were three black wires attached to this switch, two on the slip-in terminals, and one on the screw terminal. That odd-ball wire wasn't getting the constant ground it needed when the switch was in the off position.
Thats why everyone should mark or make note of their wires when removing devices. You got lucky. Real lucky!
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replaced outlets, now wall switches don't work? PittsburghPaul Electrical 3 08-09-2009 05:50 PM
Dead Outlets & Lights JnWaco Electrical 14 03-03-2009 11:08 AM
outlets work, but barely (?) joeyboy Electrical 7 08-27-2008 08:37 AM
Outlets Work - Switches Do Not? Quick Electrical 6 08-13-2008 04:10 PM
replacing old outlets and switches Nailpounder Electrical 7 04-28-2008 09:36 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.