Replaced Outlet And Need Help. - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-17-2012, 02:13 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Idaho
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Replaced outlet and need help.


Ok i was going to add and outside outlet to my house and i was going to get power directly off an outlet from the inside. I drew a diagram on how the wiring was but i seem to have lost the diagram. I know it was stupid to have lost it but now i need help. I remember there being 3 cables coming into the box, two whites being plugged into the silver screws and one black to the brass. One black and one white was capped together. This is my problem i don't remember how the wires where connected to the outlet reciplcal and which black and white wires were connected together. There are two light switches (one above the outlet and the other on the other side of the room) that controls the outlets. It appears as there are 5 outlets and one outside light(outside light switch is above the outlet) that are controlled by this breaker.

Any help would be great.
Thank you

Advertisement

2Quik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 02:24 PM   #2
Member
 
SuperJETT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Loo-uh-vul, KY
Posts: 195
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Replaced outlet and need help.


To an outlet (typically):
black to brass (hot)
white to silver (neutral/common)
green/bare to ground screw

It sounds like you have a 3-way switch circuit controlling the outlets, that's where you have to start identifying the wires because we can't tell you how it was run. The switch circuit may or may not have run through that box, it may be controlling just one outlet (typical), etc.

Advertisement

SuperJETT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 02:28 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Idaho
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Replaced outlet and need help.


SuperJETT thank you for the replay.

How do i go about identifying the wires?
2Quik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 02:37 PM   #4
Member
 
SuperJETT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Loo-uh-vul, KY
Posts: 195
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Replaced outlet and need help.


Kill power to all circuits in the box, verify it's dead, then do some continuity checks to identify the switch circuits.
SuperJETT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 02:45 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Idaho
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Replaced outlet and need help.


Sorry but i am not sure how i would do this with my voltmeter because the prongs are not long enough. Unless i am miss understand you comment.
2Quik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 02:57 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Springfield OH
Posts: 768
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Replaced outlet and need help.


Quote:
Sorry but i am not sure how i would do this with my voltmeter because the prongs are not long enough.
"prongs"? Are you talking about the probes on the volt meter? You can check voltage at the screw connections on most outlets and switches.
oberkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 03:20 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Idaho
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Replaced outlet and need help.


yes the probes, sorry.

I guess i am not understand what you mean. Sorry.
Would you mind describing in detail why exactly you mean please?

The main power wire is the only wire that will have continuity?
2Quik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 03:31 PM   #8
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Replaced outlet and need help.


Was there one switch or two? I think you said 2.
Did both switches control the same thing(s)?
You said the outlets were turned on and off. Was it both the top and bottom outlets or just one?
Did they control anything else? Ceiling lights?
Can you take a pic of the box and the wires coming out of the box?
Yes continuity checks can be useful if you know what you are doing, and understand how these circuits are wired, but there are other checks you can do.
Please do your best to answer these questions and we will do our best to help.
__________________
#1 - If you don't know what you're doing - get a licensed electrician!
#2 - If you follow my advice and something bad happens see # 1
Electricity bites hard, and it could be the last thing you feel... Good Luck!
TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 03:51 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Idaho
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Replaced outlet and need help.


Yes two switches and they control two outlets out of the five that are on the circuit and nothing else.

You said the outlets were turned on and off. Was it both the top and bottom outlets or just one? I don't know what you mean here?

I will take a picture later today and upload it this evening.
2Quik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 04:08 PM   #10
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Replaced outlet and need help.


The usual way to switch a duplex receptacle is to switch only one (the top) outlet, having the other one (the bottom one) live all the time. This way you can plug a lamp into one and have it controlled by the switch and plug, say the TV in the other. You wouldn't want the tv turning on and off whenever you flipped the switch!


What is you location? Please add it to your profile, it often makes a difference.
__________________
#1 - If you don't know what you're doing - get a licensed electrician!
#2 - If you follow my advice and something bad happens see # 1
Electricity bites hard, and it could be the last thing you feel... Good Luck!
TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 04:25 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Idaho
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Replaced outlet and need help.


You know i don't know if it was just for the top or bottom. I just bought this house a little bit ago.
Damn. I can i test for the live wire buy turning off power pulling out the wires out of the box, turn power back on and place black probe one white wire and red probe to each black wire until i get a reading of 110 ohms?
2Quik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 04:28 PM   #12
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Replaced outlet and need help.


First of all, it would be 120 Volts, not Ohms

You are really starting to worry me.

I think you need a professional. They will be able to figure this out in no time at all. SAFELY!!!!!
__________________
#1 - If you don't know what you're doing - get a licensed electrician!
#2 - If you follow my advice and something bad happens see # 1
Electricity bites hard, and it could be the last thing you feel... Good Luck!
TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 04:47 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Idaho
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Replaced outlet and need help.


I meant voltage. "V" on my multimeter. As you can tell i am not an expert electrician i get some symbols and names mixed up. my bad
2Quik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 04:53 PM   #14
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Replaced outlet and need help.


Just for your info, as I have the feeling you won't give up.

On a duplex receptacle, there is a tab that connects the screws on each side (the two dark together and the two silver together)
When an electrician wants to switch one outlet, normally he will break the tab only on the hot side, running one always hot to one screw ; and one switched hot to the other screw (on the same side).

The tap is normally left intact on the silver side and the 2 neutrals are connected to these 2 silver screws so they are connected together electrically.

QUOTE I remember there being 3 cables coming into the box, two whites being plugged into the silver screws and one black to the brass. One black and one white was capped together END QUOTE

Here you say there are 3 whites and 2 blacks. This simply does not make sense.

__________________
#1 - If you don't know what you're doing - get a licensed electrician!
#2 - If you follow my advice and something bad happens see # 1
Electricity bites hard, and it could be the last thing you feel... Good Luck!
TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 09:43 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Idaho
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Replaced outlet and need help.


No the tabs are not broken on the reciprocal outlet.
Here is a picture of the box. hopes this helps.

Replaced outlet and need help.-img_20121217_185141.jpg

Advertisement

2Quik is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts