Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-10-2009, 02:37 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 32
Share |
Default

Replaced Light Fixture, additional wire?


Hi!
I just removed a light fixture (A), to replace it with another lamp.
After disconneting the light and the wires, there was an additional white wire that came loose, which confused me.

It is a single fixture (A) that is controlled be a switch (1). This switch is in a double box together with another switch(2) which controls another light(B). They both receive the power from the same source in this box.

The other light(B) works fine with switch (2).

At fixture (A) there was another set of wires (Black and White) that appears to go to a single outlet (O). This outlet is currently not working because the wires at fixture (A) are not connected.

The loose wire is a 6 inch piece of "white" wire only, but I don't understand where and how it was connected.

My goal is to get the fixture (A) to be controlled by switch (1), and the outlet(O) to always be powered.
I'm not sure if this outlet always have been powered, or if the fixture(A) had to be turned on for it to function.

Sorry if this seems confusing, I'm obviously not an expert, but have been able to work things out by taking my time.

Thank you!!!

froddan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2009, 04:23 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Default

Replaced Light Fixture, additional wire?


Care to post a picture of your ceiling box? Are there any red wires in there?

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2009, 04:39 PM   #3
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Post

Replaced Light Fixture, additional wire?


As kbsparky said we need pics of the wires. How many wires are in the box(light)that is not working?
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2009, 06:15 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 32
Default

Replaced Light Fixture, additional wire?


Sorry, I don't have any pictures, because my wife insisted on putting up the new light, without connecting the additional wires.

No, there was no red wire. That's what I was looking for, because I understand that if a red wire would have come from the switch(?) it could have been connected to the black on the "extension". Is that right?

Again, the wires from the switch to the light is a black, white, ground.
The one from the light to the outlet is also black, white, ground.

I assume if I connect the wires by the fixture the outlet would be controlled by the switch also?

Thank you!!
froddan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2009, 06:26 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,749
Default

Replaced Light Fixture, additional wire?


If the switch only has a black, white and ground, you have a switch loop.
The power comes into the light and is looped through the switch.
In the light fixture, you will have power in, black, white ground., and a black white ground to the switch.The black from the power in cornects to the white to the switch, and the black from the switch connects to the black of the light fixture.
The white from the power in connects to the white of the light fixture.
If you have a receptacle powered from this light fixture also, the black from the receptacle connects to the black power in and the white to the switch.
The white wire from the receptacle connects to the white of the power in and the white of the light fixture.
If you have a single white wire not connected to anything, then it should go to the white of the power in.
If the wiring in the light fixture is not like I described, then we need to know what wires are there.

Hope this makes sense!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2009, 06:54 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 32
Default

Replaced Light Fixture, additional wire?


Sorry if my previous post was confusing.
My description was about the acutal light fixture. Not the box with the light switch.

The light switch has power (black, white, ground) coming in, and it then goes from the light switch (black, white, ground) to the light.

Thank you!
froddan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2009, 08:40 PM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Default

Replaced Light Fixture, additional wire?


From your description, it would appear that the wall switch controls both the ceiling light, and the wall outlet. Connect all the wires by color together in the ceiling box, and attach your fixture leads.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2009, 06:15 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 32
Default

Replaced Light Fixture, additional wire?


Sparky,

Thanks for your responses!

I would be ok with the switch controlling both the light and the outlet.

I forgot to mention that the switch is a dimmer. Would that affect anything?
froddan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2009, 06:41 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: central virginia mountains
Posts: 1,857
Default

Replaced Light Fixture, additional wire?


usually only one half of a receptacle is switched. are both the top and bottom dead?
tpolk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 01:02 AM   #10
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Replaced Light Fixture, additional wire?


Let me add one more thing with dimmer make sure that is wired for luminaire only not to the switched receptale { the code is very strict with dimmer on switched receptale and there is a specal receptale on market but this is not a common item you will find it }

Merci,
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 01:13 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,936
Default

Replaced Light Fixture, additional wire?


Did the old light fixture have little wires coming out of it or did it have screw terminals?

If it had screw terminals then you need to achieve a three way junction, incoming power, power down to the outlet (receptacle), and power to the screw terminal on the light fixture. You are not allowed to put two wires under one screw so you needed the extra 6 inch length of wire (called a pigtail) to connect to the screw and then the three (black) wire ends are fastened with a wire nut. Repeat for the (white) neutrals.

If you use a dimmer, you cannot wire up a standard receptacle without stringing a new 2 wire cable directly from the outlet box to the switch box, or by stringing a 3 wire cable from the fixture (A) to the switch box.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 11-14-2009 at 01:15 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 10:55 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 32
Default

Replaced Light Fixture, additional wire?


The old fixture had little wires. The new fixture has screw terminals.

Based on the dimmer responses, a better option seems to be to extend the wire to the receptacle to go directly to the junction box that provides power to the switches. I have easy access to the power in the attic.

Is that a better option?

Thank you!!!

froddan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with wiring a new light fixture tinkin3 Electrical 10 09-09-2009 09:26 PM
Light fixture: Does hot&neutral designation matter, and possible wiring anomaly. Deck Electrical 8 08-26-2009 08:08 AM
Installing One Light Fixture Causes Another Not To Work pythagras Electrical 2 07-02-2009 08:15 PM
adding an additional light to 2 3-way switches basement_guy Electrical 10 07-20-2008 09:23 AM
Part of a ceiling fan light fixture needs help...please g5729 Electrical 1 06-17-2007 06:22 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.