Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-21-2009, 05:10 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Share |
Default

replace receptacles now or later?


Quote:
Originally Posted by DIYGST View Post
Someone had a post saying CGFI draws about a watt?
If it uses an LM1851 it draws 1.3W and an LED indicator would be another 40mW. Generally don't put a GFCI downstream of another; the troubleshooting gets weird.


Last edited by Yoyizit; 02-21-2009 at 05:36 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2009, 05:37 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

replace receptacles now or later?


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
Pretty strange, never had to replace every receptacle unless they were from the 50-60's era. Once in awhile you get one that gets lots of action from the vacuum and such.

I had to smash out an old slater receptacle from the late 50s and they come apart very fast. Screws holding it in were rusted and stripped.

The 30 cent receptacles are not an issue to me, I wouldn't recommend them, but they still are ok.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 02:35 PM   #18
Crazy, but lovable
 
flyboy2610's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Lincoln, Ne.
Posts: 53
Default

replace receptacles now or later?


When we bought our house, it was through Neighborworks, Inc.'s housing purchase/rehab program. The inspector from Neighborworks wanted us to put a GFCI behind the refrigerator. The electrician whom our contractor subcontracted said "Uh, uh! Ain't no way!"
Putting a GFCI behind the refrigerator can lead to an expensive mess. He said if you get a power surge while you're on vacation, it could trip the GFCI. Then when you get home, everything in the refrigerator is ruined.
flyboy2610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 02:40 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 319
Default

replace receptacles now or later?


Can I put a regular 20 AMP receptacle behind the refigerator? (It's on a 20 amp circuit, but not dedicated for this outlet though)

the 20 Amp has good plug retention, which is why I want to use it, no other reason..


Thanks
DIYGST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 03:04 PM   #20
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

replace receptacles now or later?


Quote:
Originally Posted by flyboy2610 View Post
When we bought our house, it was through Neighborworks, Inc.'s housing purchase/rehab program. The inspector from Neighborworks wanted us to put a GFCI behind the refrigerator. The electrician whom our contractor subcontracted said "Uh, uh! Ain't no way!"
Putting a GFCI behind the refrigerator can lead to an expensive mess. He said if you get a power surge while you're on vacation, it could trip the GFCI. Then when you get home, everything in the refrigerator is ruined.
Why would you leave food in your fridge if your going on vacation?
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 03:04 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

replace receptacles now or later?


Quote:
Originally Posted by DIYGST View Post
Can I put a regular 20 AMP receptacle behind the refigerator? (It's on a 20 amp circuit, but not dedicated for this outlet though)

the 20 Amp has good plug retention, which is why I want to use it, no other reason..
Thanks
If its on a 20a circuit then Yes
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 03:07 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

replace receptacles now or later?


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
Why would you leave food in your fridge if your going on vacation?
How would the average household not leave food in their fridge?
With everything we (wife) buy its not really possible to empty a fridge for a weeks vacation
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 03:12 PM   #23
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

replace receptacles now or later?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
How would the average household not leave food in their fridge?
With everything we (wife) buy its not really possible to empty a fridge for a weeks vacation
I understand that, but you wouldnt fill it up before you left either... Seems you would have minimul food in it just in case the fridge stopped working for any reason, not just GFCI protection.

Kind of my point actully, just dont understand the relationship behind not installing a GFCI on a fridge when so many other factors play in, such as loss of Utility power, and the appliance breaking. In other words, who cares if the fridge is GFCI protected or not.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 03:20 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

replace receptacles now or later?


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
who cares if the fridge is GFCI protected or not.
Not me, as long as the fridge shell is grounded, either from the factory or by the HO.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 03:36 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

replace receptacles now or later?


I've tried to convince the wife that the grocery store will be open every day. She's not listening I've never in my life frozen potato chips, but she always has some in the freezer. I guess they do take up air space, so its that much less cold air that escapes when the door is opened. Same with CVS/drugstores, she buys stuff when we don't need it. Then by the time we do need it it's almost expired

I've never had a GFCI protected fridge or freezer
Is the fridge/freezer shell grounded by the cord at the factory??
So if you only had a 2 prong outlet a GFCI would be a good idea?
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 04:16 PM   #26
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

replace receptacles now or later?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
I've tried to convince the wife that the grocery store will be open every day. She's not listening I've never in my life frozen potato chips, but she always has some in the freezer. I guess they do take up air space, so its that much less cold air that escapes when the door is opened. Same with CVS/drugstores, she buys stuff when we don't need it. Then by the time we do need it it's almost expired
That was hilarious!

Quote:
Originally Posted by scuba_dave
I've never had a GFCI protected fridge or freezer
Is the fridge/freezer shell grounded by the cord at the factory??
So if you only had a 2 prong outlet a GFCI would be a good idea?
GFCI protection is becoming more and more common in residential settings, codes keep changing, I'll i'm saying is that there is nothing wrong with them on GFCI's... They are required in all commerical kitchens for a reason. safety!
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 07:20 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

replace receptacles now or later?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
So if you only had a 2 prong outlet a GFCI would be a good idea?
I'd run my own ground wire first unless there is nothing grounded in the vicinity. Then you couldn't touch the fridge and a ground at the same time.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 07:39 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

replace receptacles now or later?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
I'd run my own ground wire first unless there is nothing grounded in the vicinity. Then you couldn't touch the fridge and a ground at the same time.
I was thinking more of some houses that have all the old 2 prong outlets. I know many people just install a new 3 prong outlet & think all is good
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 07:43 PM   #29
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

replace receptacles now or later?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
I was thinking more of some houses that have all the old 2 prong outlets. I know many people just install a new 3 prong outlet & think all is good
That would be a code violation to install a GFCI receptacle in place of a two wire receptacle suppling a fridge or a freezer.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 07:51 PM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

replace receptacles now or later?


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
That would be a code violation to install a GFCI receptacle in place of a two wire receptacle suppling a fridge or a freezer.

Where is this in the nec? I would like to read it.

rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in New Addition? sandyman720 Electrical 6 11-27-2011 03:34 PM
Replace door sill = Need new door? NNJGUY Carpentry 23 09-01-2009 01:54 PM
receptacles have no power, im at a loss reds_21 Electrical 3 10-05-2008 10:49 AM
Replace main panel? And lots of other ?s Bcoleman6 Electrical 13 01-22-2008 09:40 AM
Number of receptacles and size of wires KUIPORNG Electrical 5 06-28-2006 01:21 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.