Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-25-2014, 07:23 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Replace junction box w sub panel


Sorry for the length but didnt want to leave anything out. I am about to remodel my kitchen and update all the wiring in my duplex all one building each unit on its own 100 amp service. All the circuits from the main panel except for two bedrooms are in 3/4 inch conduit coming from the 100 amp main panel that is located on the outside of the house. The conduit runs through block into the house to a large junction box located inside a kitchen cabinet. I can't install new cabinets due to junction box location and size.

Since the conduit is already run and closer to wall I want to use.... I was thinking it would be best to use 4/3 copper in the exsisting conduit into the new sub panel(shorter run) and then install the new wiring to the sub panel from the rest of the house. The location of the new sub panel would be to code. I will need 10 circuits at least so prefer sub panel with room for 12 circuits. The circuits to the sub panel would be:

dishwasher 20 amp
disposal 15 amp
frig 20 amp
Stove 50 amp
Kitchen 20 amp 4 outlets all GFCI protected
Bedroom 15 Amp w Arc fault
TV room 20 amp
living room 15amp
Bathroom 20 amp GFCI protected
dryer 30 amp




The only circuits that would be left in the main will be 2 15 amp arc fault for other two bedrooms they were updated already. No additional ground rod since all one building main has one already and will remove bonding in sub panel

Here are my questions :

What size main breaker for sub panel ?

4/3 ok for feeder ?

Any issue with leaving two bedroom circuits in the main panel ?

Was planning to use Square D panel (same as other panel) any other recommendations for panel?

Based on over plan do you see any problems before I submit for approval ?

I also thought about moving the whole panel and upgrade to 200 but not needed have no A/C, gas furnace and gas water heater.


Again sorry for the length and thanks for input!!

Warchild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2014, 07:32 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Replace junction box w sub panel


#4 CU is only rated at 85A in this application.

3/4" conduit will not fit 3 #4's.

You will need a 4 wire feed to the sub panel unless the entire run of conduit is metallic.

These answers are based on US codes.

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mobile Home Electrical Panel Replacement rrolleston Electrical 2 01-28-2012 06:27 PM
Passing wire to another panel theatretch85 Electrical 5 09-21-2009 12:09 AM
Sub Panel SoxFan Electrical 2 12-02-2008 11:16 AM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 04:03 PM
Replace main panel? And lots of other ?s Bcoleman6 Electrical 13 01-22-2008 10:40 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.