Replace Double Taps With Junction Box - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-19-2011, 07:41 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Replace double taps with junction box


As a continuation of my other thread I need to fix my two double tapped breakers.

Breaker #1 - Panel plug + outdoor lamp post
Breaker #2 -Refrigerator + door bell

I'm thinking the simplest/best thing to do is to but a junction box next to the breaker panel and do the following:

Breaker #1 - Junction box connecting panel plug + outdoor lamp post + door bell
Breaker #2 -Refrigerator

Thoughts and suggestions are welcome

Advertisement

inkognito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 07:45 PM   #2
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Replace double taps with junction box


Splice in panel. Junction box is not necessary.

Advertisement

Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 07:52 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Replace double taps with junction box


Forgot to clarify that I'm located in Canada and I'm not sure whether that's allowed by code here. Maybe others can verify.
inkognito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 08:06 PM   #4
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Replace double taps with junction box


Quote:
Originally Posted by inkognito View Post
Forgot to clarify that I'm located in Canada and I'm not sure whether that's allowed by code here. Maybe others can verify.
Yeah, CEC may be different.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 08:47 PM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,012
Rewards Points: 2,822
Default

Replace double taps with junction box


I believe splice are prohibited in a panel under the CEC.

What brand breakers do you have? Some are listed by UL in the US to accept two conductors.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 10:17 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Replace double taps with junction box


My breakers are definitely not rated for two conductors.

I did some more research and found that you cannot splice inside the panel other than to extend a wire - in cases where you e.g. replace the panel and some of the wires are too short to reach to a breaker.

The doorbell transformer is attached to the panel too which means I have to detach it so I can run the 14/2 into the JB (or the panel plug I suppose).

Advertisement

inkognito is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Split 220v in a junction box into 2x 110v dsoelter Electrical 10 07-10-2010 10:25 PM
double walled ductwork question(s) peyton HVAC 8 04-19-2010 11:02 AM
Two Breakers for 1 Double Recepticle Box? mfleming Electrical 9 03-10-2010 08:28 AM
Replace door sill = Need new door? NNJGUY Carpentry 23 09-01-2009 02:54 PM
replace galvanized pipe below kitchen sink? Jeremy Hillary Boob, PhD Plumbing 3 04-03-2009 09:39 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts