Replace Condo's 2 Wire Mechanical Thermostat With Digital Thermostat - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-22-2008, 12:29 PM   #1
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10

Replace Condo's 2 wire mechanical thermostat with digital thermostat

I decided for efficiency sake I want to replace the old mechanical white rogers thermostat with a new Honeywell digital programmable one. The digital programmable thermostat I have bought contains connection points for Rh, Rc, W,Y, and G.

The problems that I've run into are:

1: The condo has shared central heating and cooling such that in the Summer (May-October) you can only get cool air (A/C) and in the Winter you can only get warm air.

2: There are only two black copper wires to the unit and again depending on the time of year it either does A/C or Heat. The mechanical thermostat took care of this problem by connecting both the W and Y wire to one single wire.

Should I just get copper wires to split the 2 wire's from the unit into 4 (so that Rc, Rh, W, Y are all connected ) ? Is this even possible or a good idea?

Thank you for your help.


kat83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2008, 12:33 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
jrclen's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500

Replace Condo's 2 wire mechanical thermostat with digital thermostat

Great question. Post this in HVAC and one of the heating and air conditioning guys will jump in to help you I bet.


jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2008, 12:52 PM   #3
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,585
Rewards Points: 2,158

Replace Condo's 2 wire mechanical thermostat with digital thermostat

If you have a connection diagram (the one that came with the thermostat) and some multi conductor cable, you should be able to figure it out. Turn off the power before attempting any work on the system.
If you can scan or take a picture of the diagram of the thermostat and the one on the AC unit, post it. We may be able to tell you how to connect.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote

2 wire , digital thermostat , mechanical thermostat

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new honeywell rth6300b to replace very old honeywell thermostat Designman20 HVAC 2 05-06-2009 05:43 AM
X wire on old thermostat Jellybean HVAC 3 03-30-2008 08:14 AM
Tie-in of a Coleman electric furnace nilo HVAC 9 01-03-2007 04:45 PM
8 wire to 4 wire thermostat help needed dj petey HVAC 5 04-15-2006 01:20 PM

Top of Page | View New Posts