Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-28-2013, 07:05 AM   #1

Share |

replace 3 prong dryer receptical with 4 prong

I have a 25 year old house with 3 prong 30 amp dryer receptical. I have a newer electrical dryer with a 4 prong 30 amp plug. The existing box has 4 10 ga wires black, white, red and bare ground.

It seemed like the easy, best, cheapest thing to do was replace the receptical/outlet with a 4 prong dryer outlet. They must have went to 4 prong for a reason right? I am not an electrical engineer, but I think I can change out an outlet, without burning the house down.

I go buy a matching 4 prong dryer outlet, wire it up and it will not fit into the existing new construction type wall box? The existing wall box is a standard brown plastic approximately 2X3 1/2 nailed to the studs and drywalled over type box.

The receptacle will not fit in the box, it is bigger than the original 3 prong receptacle! So now what is the easiest, cheapest, best way to solve my issue?
JIm

jjrbus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 07:35 AM   #2
Retired from the grind

You already have a 4-wire hook-up, just need to get the proper dryer outlet & cord, then connect the cord, and remember to remove the bonding strap or jumper from the White/Neutral inside the dryer.

As for the "box" really need a picture to see what you are talking about. If the outlet is incorrect, most likely whomever installed it, may have used a Range outlet, not a dryer outlet.

Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?

Last edited by gregzoll; 01-28-2013 at 07:38 AM.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote