Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-06-2010, 11:25 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
Share |
Question

Removing range hood


Hi there,

My husband and I are making some minor improvements in our kitchen and our next step is to remove our range hood/vent and the cupboard above it, and install an above the range microwave.

I have instructions on how to remove the hood/vent, but it says to install an approved switch box... to ensure the wire are safe. We were just going to cap them, but this sounds like a safer option?

I have no idea what kind of switch box is required or how to install one (and I know my husband doesn't know either, and if he thinks he does - I'd rather have a second opinion )

Do we need to install the switch box, or would capping the wires be sufficient?
If we need a switch box, what kind?? OR... can we somehow install an outlet and use that as a dedicated outlet for the microwave??

That may be a silly question - and it's ok if you're laughing at me, but I really have no idea what is best???

Help me please!!

boncheri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 02:15 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 14
Default

Removing range hood


I can't help you but it sounds like we're in the same boat. All I have is a wire coming out of the wall and going into the range hood. I guess that wire should end up getting wired into an outlet and run up through the bottom of the upper cabinets. Hopefully someone here can answer.

Lucas718 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 02:59 PM   #3
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,756
Default

Removing range hood


Unless you know something I don't your new mw will require a cabinet above it. In which case an electrical box is cut-in to the back of the cabinet, the cable run into the box, the box mounted into the cabinet, receptacle and cover plate installed, a hole drilled in the bottom of the cabinet facilitates the cord of the mw plugged into the recep. The only concern is whether or not the circuit will handle the mw as it really should be on a dedicated circuit.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 04:29 PM   #4
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Default

Removing range hood


brric has it all pretty much covered. I'd just like to add that you need to keep in mind that if your moving your plug higher then you'll need to pull the wires back inside the wall....romex can't be run surface.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 10:51 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Removing range hood


Quote:
Originally Posted by andrew79 View Post
romex can't be run surface.
Sure it can. As long as its not subject to physical damage you can pretty much run it (NM) anywhere you want thats not damp or wet.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 12:28 PM   #6
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Default

Removing range hood


i'm fairly sure that above the stove having romex surface most likely isn't the best of ideas....i guess i should have said you can't run romex "there" surface. Well i suppose legally you could but still common? romex free air above the stove?

andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
switch box


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backdraft, Cold Air and Ice from Range Hood and Bath Fan Passion4Heels HVAC 13 08-19-2010 07:00 PM
Installing Range Hood and Stainless Steel Backsplash oguevarra Remodeling 1 02-26-2010 04:01 PM
Island Range Hood? fromwithin Appliances 0 11-25-2009 10:45 PM
Installing a range hood NewHandyman Electrical 1 08-10-2009 09:42 AM
Same Circuit: Range Hood, DW, and GD? atty_toconnor Electrical 4 04-08-2008 04:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.