Removing A Branch Circuit - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-19-2005, 01:04 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Removing a branch circuit


After quite a bit of water damage to a bathroom in a 1939 circa house, I want to run a anew circuit with ground to the bathroom. The problem is the light switch and outlet in the bathroom are supplied from the light in the hall. The wires are soldered together in the light box. What is the best way of removing these branch circuits. The plaster walls have been removed from the bathroom.

The existing wires are only 2 conductor cable.

Thanks

Advertisement

jcostanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2005, 10:06 PM   #2
Long-Time DIYer
 
Mike Swearingen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: On Albemarle Sound In Northeastern NC
Posts: 1,460
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Removing a branch circuit


Are you experienced with working with electrical? Do you have a fuse panel or a breaker panel? Is the bathroom over a basement or crawlspace or directly under the attic? If you're removing a circuit, the first thing to do is to disconnect it from the main panel.
You need to check with your Building Inspection Department regarding permit and inspection and local code requirements.
If you're re-wiring a bathroom, you also might want to consider adding an exhaust fan.
If local code permits you to DIY the wiring, we'll be glad to help with suggestions, but we need more information of what you're working with, the general layout, etc.
Mike

Advertisement


Last edited by Mike Swearingen; 04-19-2005 at 10:08 PM.
Mike Swearingen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2005, 11:31 PM   #3
Contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Jensen Beach, FL
Posts: 835
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Removing a branch circuit


Here, any new wiring has to be brought up tp current code. This would mean that the entire circuit would have to be rewired. This is common in older homes.
For your safety, you might want to consider rewiring the entire house. Bad news now, more expensive later, adds to resale value.
Teetorbilt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in New Addition? sandyman720 Electrical 6 11-27-2011 04:34 PM
Loose electrical outlets travishume Electrical 30 08-01-2008 08:21 PM
Removing a circuit? viking1974 Electrical 5 08-08-2007 07:15 AM
So lost - electrical requirements please help lapsis9 HVAC 4 12-20-2006 09:09 PM
Adding new circuit breakers to 100 amp sub panel DrP Electrical 8 05-25-2006 11:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts