Removing The Bonding Screw - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-02-2012, 11:10 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 52
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Removing the bonding screw


I've just installed a small sub panel that contains only 1 - 15 Amp GFI breaker for our new hot tub. The panel is next to my main panel. Do I remove the neutral bonding screw ? I am thinking "yes". Or will that effect the operation of the GFI breaker which has the load side neutral connected to the breaker.

Advertisement

Sammy 2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 11:22 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,946
Rewards Points: 1,010
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default


It should have four wires if 240v sub panel and the bonding screw should be removed.

Advertisement

rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 11:33 PM   #3
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,921
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default


If it has a bonding screw are the neutral and ground busses also connected together?
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 11:40 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 52
Rewards Points: 75
Default


Plummen, is that not what the screw does, bond the neutral to the frame ? As an afterthought this little panel has room for an additional breaker ( unused ). I am going to check the catalogue number on line, maybe it is considered to be more of a means for disconnect and it is not really considered a subpanel ? At this time it is fed with 12/2 from a 20 amp single pole breaker in the main panel into the 15 amp GFI and out with 12/2 to the tub. ( Could have been 14/2 to the tub which is 120 V / 8.9 amp draw ) There is a neutral bar in the subpanel with a removable bonding screw and also there is a ground screw (s) bolted to the cabinet.

Last edited by Sammy 2; 02-02-2012 at 11:51 PM.
Sammy 2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 11:43 PM   #5
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,921
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default


I mean the jumper between the 2 seperate buss bars,the bonding screw normally goes through it to bond both buss bars to the case.
Do you have a picture of inside your panel?
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 11:58 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,946
Rewards Points: 1,010
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default


Why would you have used this panel if you had room in your panel for another breaker?
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 12:23 AM   #7
Retired from the grind
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17,158
Rewards Points: 6,652
Default


Let's start from the beginning. Does this hot tub only require Single phase 240? If so, it should not have a sub-panel, but a pull-disconnect, such as used with a a/c, or a gfci breaker, and a outlet, that the cord from the hottub is attached to, that plugs into said protected outlet. That means, if it does not require two hots, or a combo of 120/240, then it should only have three wires.

If it requires 120/240, then yes, it should have four wires, and as such, it should be wired accordingly.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 06:42 AM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 6,596
Rewards Points: 588
Default


As long as you have seperate bars for the neutral and dround wires, remove the screw.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 07:00 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 7,760
Rewards Points: 3,626
Default


Disconnect or remove the bonding bar, if any, running between the ground bus bar and the neutral bus bar from the neutral bar.

Remove the bonding screw, if any, in the neutral bus bar.

The ground bus bar needs to be bonded to the panel, by being fastened to the panel back with metal to metal contact, or by having a bonding screw of its own that is digging into the panel back, or with a bracket or jumper wire attached to the panel back.
__________________
Tornado victims: Do not rush to rebuild. Take your time and look for and get a good contractor. Or consider selling the property and moving to a home that is ready to live in.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AllanJ For This Useful Post:
plummen (02-03-2012)
Old 02-03-2012, 08:31 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 52
Rewards Points: 75
Default


Thanks everyone, I have it figured out now.

Advertisement

Sammy 2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do screw heads really need to be mudded with three coats? KUIPORNG Remodeling 33 09-17-2011 01:54 AM
Drywall screw gun or screw setter bit ? Arky217 Building & Construction 6 06-18-2011 09:22 PM
Swapping old 3ways with new (different screw color configuration on new switch) Michblaze02 Electrical 10 11-08-2009 02:17 PM
Would you staple, nail or screw? Speedball Flooring 7 11-28-2008 11:21 AM
Which bonding method proper??? Nestor Electrical 2 09-15-2006 06:18 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

 

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1