Remove A Switch - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-08-2012, 10:26 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Remove a switch


How do I remove a switch that currently controls an outlet ? Please see photo.

The switch I want to remove is A. It controls power to an outlet. Switch B controls an exterior light. Both switches are on the same circuit. The objective is to remove switch A so power always goes to the outlet and leave switch B intact. Seems like there are 3 cables entering the box.

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Remove a switch-img_1431_mark.jpg  

Advertisement

timcsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 10:34 AM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,002
Rewards Points: 2,802
Default

Remove a switch


The electrical code requires a switch controlled receptacle or lighting outlet in many rooms. Removing the switch may create a code violation. What room is this in?

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
k_buz (08-08-2012)
Old 08-08-2012, 11:39 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Remove a switch


it's actually in the living room
timcsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 12:10 PM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,002
Rewards Points: 2,802
Default

Remove a switch


That would be one of the rooms that would require the switched receptacle or a switched lighting outlet.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 05:03 PM   #5
"So I Re-Wired It"
 
MisterZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NorthEast USA
Posts: 258
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Remove a switch


is it a half-switched outlet?? these rooms only require half-switched oulets.
if the whole duplex is switched, you can remedy this by removing the break-off tabs betweent the terminals.
of course you'll need to supply power for the unswitched portion (which should be the top)


BTW, nice pics. all wires are clearly identifiable.
however, i will not comment on the wire job or switches
__________________
Knowledge is Power, but 240v can Keel You!!

Last edited by MisterZ; 08-08-2012 at 05:08 PM.
MisterZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 08:27 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 89
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Remove a switch


Above answers are correct that code requires a switched lighting outlet and that is probably what that switch that you want to remove is for.

Code issues aside and you really want to do this, follow below.

Turn off power!

Instructions assume Power is coming in on wire 6. If not sure test.

Remove wire 3 from switch A.
Remove wire 1 and 2 from switch A
Remove wire 4 and 6 from switch B
Discard wire 4 and 1
Splice wire 2,3,6 together along with a tail piece of wire.
Terminate your new tail piece to the same location on switch B that wires 4 and 6 came from.

Put Switch B back in box where it came from.

You can put Switch A back in the box if you want even though it does not do anything anymore or you can go buy a switch plate that has a single switch opening on one side and a blank on the other.

Turn power back on and your done.
parman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 08:56 PM   #7
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Remove a switch


Since an answer was given on how to do this (and I do agree that you shouldn't due to the code violation).....

Take the red wire off the switch and tie it into the black wirenut....done.

Advertisement

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 08:25 PM
Carrier Infinity 69 Trouble Code 42 bodya1 HVAC 4 12-05-2010 07:43 PM
Remove light switch broadbear Electrical 2 03-29-2009 02:39 PM
single gang single pole switch on fan fabian Electrical 14 03-05-2009 02:11 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts