Remove Staple Without Damaging NM - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-04-2009, 03:42 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 321
Rewards Points: 254
Default

remove staple without damaging NM


What is the best way or tool to remove a staple holding the NM tight? (not inside the wall, I have full access) I don't want to damage the wire in anyway. I have heard of dikes used to snip the staple.. is it strong enough?

Advertisement

DIYGST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 07:20 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Western Ontario
Posts: 955
Rewards Points: 500
Default

remove staple without damaging NM


Just pulled a batch of tight staples from my sub flloor with and old large nail file and dikes as well as needle nose. Working the file gently under the wire so as not to cut the insulation may help you pry up a bit without kinking the wire. Dikes should have a hardened cutting tip tough enough for the staple

Advertisement

Chemist1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 07:32 AM   #3
elect, contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: niagara ontario
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 25
Default

remove staple without damaging NM


if they have the depth tabs on them tap the end of a flat screw driver under the depth tab and pry up, or use a pair of side cutters and grab the side of the staple close to the wood with the end of the cutters and pry up
ACB Electric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 07:59 AM   #4
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

remove staple without damaging NM


Anything pressing under the wire leaves the potential to damage the cable. Best way is to use diagonal cutters. The cutting point allows you to pinch the staple at the outside edge against the stud. The offset design of this tool allows the tool to become a lever easily popping the staple loose and never touching of applying any pressure to the wire. =
Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 10:01 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,975
Rewards Points: 2,046
Default

remove staple without damaging NM


For those eavesdropping and who don't have enough working room, I would think about cutting additional holes in drywall to get at the staples instead of risking damage to the cable and having to string a new cable. Since you don't have to actually cut the staple, other kinds of pliers such as long nose could be used if necessary.

If necessary hold a screwdriver shaft or nail on the stud next to the staple to get additional leverage for pliers.

If the staple won't come out completely by lifting from the side, keep in mind you only have to pry it up enough to get a screwdriver or other prying tool under its middle without gouging the cable.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Granite kitchen countertops replacing tile/mortar countertops - what to remove? vsheetz Building & Construction 17 06-10-2009 08:32 PM
Opening up a Bathroom - What can I remove? webgeek Carpentry 7 01-21-2009 12:01 PM
Remove Joist Bridge?? busy1 Building & Construction 9 09-01-2008 10:56 PM
wire staple removal madmax55555 Electrical 8 07-03-2006 06:29 PM
Remove baseboard heat? Patrick B HVAC 6 04-11-2006 05:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts