Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-06-2008, 03:56 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Remote with whole house fan?


Hello all. (san diego Ca)
Had a quick question,I installed a whole house fan and also bought a universal remote for ceiling fans.My goal is to hook the remote up (if possible )to the fan so I can use that instead of having the ugly brass chain hanging down form the vent.The fan works off a pull chain and has only two speeds.
Wires from whole house fan are black/white and ground. I noticed the remote also has those wires and maybe a blue or red one ( I would have to check) If I have to to I can use just one speed with the whole house fan (just slow or hard ) and leave it on that all the time if the remote wouldn't operate both speeds for some reason.The barrier to the remote from the hallway would not be an issue.I can actually see the motor through the vent in the hallway (only about three feet,no obstruction)
Also what would I do..just connect the two black wires from the fan motor and the black wire from the remote (labeled fan motor) and so on for the rest,and then run a 14/2 or 12/2 (which would be best for this ?) wire over to a box in the attic and splice in ?? any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.Can I splice into any wires or is there a specific box I should look for.
Thanks in advance,


Last edited by jman1; 05-06-2008 at 05:00 PM. Reason: added info about the whole house fan: bought at HD not the one to the right on the forum.simpler version at HD
jman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 04:40 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Washington
Posts: 146
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Remote with whole house fan?


Just a quick HI- Went to Monte Vista High there in Spring Valley. Been in Washington since 1993. Can't help you with the electrical....I need all the help I can get myself!!! Welcome to the forum. There are some great guys here that can help along with one (won't mention any names!) that offers sarcasm only. Most of us have learned to ignore him!!!

__________________
Student of the great electrical GURU.....Stubbie!
Cyndi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 05:21 PM   #3
electrical contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Georgia USA
Posts: 181
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Remote with whole house fan?


jman, do you have the manufactuer/model number of the remote you want to use. Also you need to check the amp draw on the fan from the motor name plate against the rating of the remote. What you are asking can be done in several ways give us the info and lets see which way to go.
__________________
Jimmy

Life is tough, Life is tougher when you are stupid.
wire_twister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 05:59 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Remote with whole house fan?


Ok.The fan motor is 2.8 amps and it says 115 house current. The remote is 120 volt fan amp 1.25 .Is this to small? So basically go back and get one that can handle 2.8 amp?( Lowes said that is the highest amp they have for those remotes) If I get one do I just wire the black to black and white to white and then the grounds?
Then get a 14/2 wire and wire it to that and then find a box in the attic to tap into? Any particluar box?
THX
jman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2008, 06:38 PM   #5
electrical contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Georgia USA
Posts: 181
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Remote with whole house fan?


First find a remote that will handle the current the fan will draw. Then read the instructions that come with it to determine connections. Now to get power for the fan, unless you KNOW what else is on the circuit I do not recomend just jumping out of any junction box and possibly overloading a circuit. The best way is to run your 14-2 back to the circuit breaker panel and install it on a 15 amp breaker.
__________________
Jimmy

Life is tough, Life is tougher when you are stupid.
wire_twister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 08:08 AM   #6
Member
 
daman3178's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Clearwater, Kansas
Posts: 64
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Remote with whole house fan?


Was anyone ever able to find a remote that would handle this type of amps? I am trying to do the same thing, but haven't been able to find a remote that will work with the higher amps. The fan I am wanting uses 2.8 amps in high and 1.5 amps in low. Any suggestions? Thanks!
daman3178 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 08:36 AM   #7
Sparkaholic
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 192
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via Yahoo to sparks1up
Default

Remote with whole house fan?


What is the HP of the motor?

This one is rated for up to 1/3 HP

http://www1.shopping.com/xPO-SVAT-Wi...100-Feet-Range

I found this and others with a google search for (120-volt motor remote wireless control)
__________________
Answers based on the mood I am in when you ask!
sparks1up is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sparks1up For This Useful Post:
daman3178 (05-23-2010)
Old 05-23-2010, 08:42 AM   #8
Member
 
daman3178's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Clearwater, Kansas
Posts: 64
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Remote with whole house fan?


Here is all the info on the fan. It looks to be a 1/5 hp motor.

Item Whole House Fan
Type Direct Drive
Speed 2
Propeller Dia. (In.) 24
CFM High 4500
CFM Low 3200
HP 1/5
Fan RPM 775/600
Voltage 120
Hz 60
Phase 1
Amps 2.8/1.5
Watts 350/240
Thanks for the help
daman3178 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 08:52 AM   #9
Sparkaholic
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 192
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via Yahoo to sparks1up
Default

Remote with whole house fan?


To Daman3178: 1/5 is smaller than 1/3 so you should be able to use the remote in the link I posted!
__________________
Answers based on the mood I am in when you ask!

Last edited by sparks1up; 05-23-2010 at 08:55 AM. Reason: Reply is not to OP
sparks1up is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sparks1up For This Useful Post:
daman3178 (05-23-2010)
Old 05-23-2010, 08:56 AM   #10
Member
 
daman3178's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Clearwater, Kansas
Posts: 64
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Remote with whole house fan?


Thanks, Sparks1up!! Total brain fart this morning, I really appreciate the help. This will make the fan look a lot better!! Thanks again!
daman3178 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 09:06 AM   #11
Member
 
daman3178's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Clearwater, Kansas
Posts: 64
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Remote with whole house fan?


Hey Sparks1up, sorry to bug you!! It seems that one you suggested is out of stock everywhere!! I did fine this one, it looks about the same but doesn't say anything about the hp. Should it handle it? Thanks!
daman3178 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 09:07 AM   #12
Member
 
daman3178's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Clearwater, Kansas
Posts: 64
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Remote with whole house fan?


forgot the link!! Here it is:

http://www.outletpc.com/c7272.html

daman3178 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cape Cod Style House Attic/Crawl Space Insulation Help Danielg Insulation 24 05-21-2012 08:20 AM
Connecting main house to guest house... hlavine Building & Construction 31 03-28-2012 09:04 AM
200 Amp service really needed for a 830 sq ft house? overkill? alexz Electrical 7 11-16-2009 05:54 PM
Complete AC installation in Old Capitol Hill Row House jacko10 HVAC 0 09-18-2007 05:42 PM
need a remote for whole house fan Doug Crf Electrical 2 02-18-2007 12:34 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.