Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-09-2013, 12:13 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

Remote switch or dimmer???


I am having a box installed in the ceiling to power a chandelier. Problem is, the ceilings are 19' and there is not way to get a switch to the area that we would like for it to be, beside the other switches for the great room. Well, I guess there is a way that would involve a lot of drywall repair, but I am not going to do that.

I have two choices: 1. Tie into the existing light that shines towards the mantle to highlight a painting and run the switch for BOTH the new chandelier AND the existing art light. Or, 2. Utilize a remote switch ( I didnt know that existed). How reliable are these remote switches? Will I be stuck in the near future with an inoperable switch, thereby not having control of my chandelier? Or should I just run both lights on the same dimmer?

Thanks in advance for the input.

Rich

vtl382 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 12:36 AM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,030
Default

Remote switch or dimmer???


You would need separate runs of romex to each light, back to the box that all of the switches are in, so that you can either install a control pad that allows dimming via the pad, or a app on your android phone/tablet, or iphone/ipad. This is one option http://www.smarthome.com/2477D/Switc...d-White/p.aspx There are more in the smarthome.com site that you can go and search through.

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 08:35 AM   #3
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,959
Default

Remote switch or dimmer???


Lutron Pico Switches....





http://www.homedepot.com/p/t/2023260...a#.UTtIu6V8v0c
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replace bathroom light switch with dimmer switch ToddD Electrical 11 05-06-2012 05:58 PM
Replacing a dimmer switch with a regular switch for a ceiling fan RP DeMars Electrical 0 04-18-2012 03:25 PM
Dimmer switch wiring question joez148 Electrical 2 07-15-2010 10:49 AM
fan/light switch buzzing mjlocat Electrical 4 05-23-2010 02:44 PM
3-way light with a twist Jeepsail Electrical 14 05-18-2010 01:24 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.