Remote Controled Light? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-21-2012, 11:51 AM   #1
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,649
Rewards Points: 2,612
Default

Remote Controled Light?


My wife presented me with what I think is a really good idea.....

In her car are two buttons in the overhead console....they are buttons that will learn the code from your garage door opener.

Our garage is detached and in the rear of the house...my wife rarely uses the remote to open it...

The most commonly used door (for now) is the side door of the house. Now that I have all the stucco off that wall I'm making a 'few' wiring changes. Originally, the light on that wall was motion activated. We are moving that further back closer to the garage. We want the light by the door to be 'normal'.

So the question was....can we get a remote control module that has a remote that her car can learn? I can then connect that side light to the module and my wife would be able to turn on that light from her car when she pulls up.

Advertisement

__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 11:55 AM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,985
Rewards Points: 2,768
Default

Remote Controled Light?


Try the Homelink stuff.

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 05:19 PM   #3
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,161
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

Remote Controled Light?


You could also just purchase a Lutron Pico switch and that comes with a visor clip. My suggestion is probably the cheapest and sure to work.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for a special light switch for task lighting shazapple Electrical 3 01-02-2012 10:39 PM
new light to existing switched light sirsparksalot Electrical 4 04-22-2011 04:23 PM
Marmoleum repairs muggyfrost Flooring 8 10-16-2008 09:19 PM
Pilot light button on furnace won't turn whydonchathen HVAC 5 10-06-2008 12:03 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts