Remote Control Ceiling Fan - Switch Required? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-08-2010, 11:15 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 33
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Remote Control Ceiling Fan - switch required?


I just installed a "Harbor Breeze 52" Avian Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan" in my kitchen:

http://www.lowes.com/pd_75849-22716-L05BN_4294935508+5003700_4294937087_?productId=126 0197&Ns=p_product_prd_lis_ord_nbr|0||p_product_qua ntity_sold|1&pl=1&currentURL=%2Fpl_100%2B200_42949 35508%2B5003700_4294937087_%3FNs%3Dp_product_prd_l is_ord_nbr|0||p_product_quantity_sold|1


This is a remote control ceiling fan - not a fan with a regular controls and a remote, you cannot operate the fan without using the remote.

My question is whether or not this fan needs a switch. For example, my dishwasher has a switch that is always in the "on" position - I think this is a code requirement. I am tempted to wire the ceiling fan switch to "always on", put a blank cover plate over it, and cover that with a cabinet.

Advertisement


Last edited by bvbellomo; 11-08-2010 at 12:17 PM.
bvbellomo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 11:39 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Remote Control Ceiling Fan - switch required?


The NEC does require that your DW have a disconnect. The NEC does require a disconnecting means for all appliances, whether it be a disconnect or cord and plug.
Your situation is a bit different. Is a ceiling fan an appliance? That is the question we must ask and not all of us are going to agree.

IMHO, you need the switch and it must be accesible. Use the existing switch that controlled the light. Do not jump out the switch or put a blank cover on it.

Advertisement

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 01:29 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Springfield OH
Posts: 768
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Remote Control Ceiling Fan - switch required?


Regardless of whether you need a switch or not, I suspect the idea of having a junction box behind your cabinet to be a bad idea, and a breach of code requirement. Blank plates covering wire junctions need to remain accessible.
oberkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 01:34 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 33
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Remote Control Ceiling Fan - switch required?


Another option is removing the switch wire to the junction box altogether.
bvbellomo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 02:17 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 441
Rewards Points: 252
Default

Remote Control Ceiling Fan - switch required?


Quote:
Originally Posted by bvbellomo View Post
Another option is removing the switch wire to the junction box altogether.
then when you want to work on fan you need to kill the whole ckt with the breaker.a switch is nessarry.why are you guy's always tring to cause trouble for your selvs.....
oleguy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 02:23 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 33
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Remote Control Ceiling Fan - switch required?


The hot goes to the fan first and then to the switch - I have to kill the breaker to work on the wiring no matter what or I have live power.
bvbellomo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 11:49 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Remote Control Ceiling Fan - switch required?


Quote:
Originally Posted by bvbellomo View Post
The hot goes to the fan first and then to the switch - I have to kill the breaker to work on the wiring no matter what or I have live power.
The hot is connected to the cable that goes down to the switch. Then the switch is connected to that cable to turn on the fan. Its the way many ceiling boxes are wired.
The switch is required. But I am not the wiring police so you can do whatever you want too.
Just be real careful when connecting the fan up. You cannot tell if the fan is off or on. So make sure you kill the breaker at least.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 09:07 AM   #8
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,258
Rewards Points: 1,012
Default

Remote Control Ceiling Fan - switch required?


I have a ceiling fan in my living room that was installed by a previous owner. There is no switch, just the remote.

The remote is finicky, I can't stand it. I'd much prefer a switch. I just haven't gotten the energy to tear through the walls to run a wire. If the option to put a switch is an easy one, I'd do it whether code requires it or not.

Advertisement

__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ceiling Fan Circuit Problem G_S_DB Electrical 1 08-25-2010 07:24 PM
Remote control for light switch? CZ DIY Electrical 2 08-23-2010 12:27 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 10:33 AM
Modification to an existing pump switch DRBLKJK Electrical 10 08-23-2009 04:06 PM
Installing Ceiling Fan Brandon19 Electrical 18 08-21-2009 06:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts