Relocating Island - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-25-2012, 07:04 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

relocating island


moving island 4' and see that pvc thru slab is broken off inches below floor level with about 5" of romex sticking out; i've already made the trough to accept the new wiring and box for splice.
-do i need to jackhammer around the pvc and attach elbow or can i sleeve the armored over it going to the box for splice?
-i was told a 1" metal box is acceptable (has only the push clips) and to run the armored up to it and then silicone around the outside....is this good?
i will have tile installed over it and want to be sure that i'm doing the work correctly...thanks

Advertisement

lantana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 07:46 AM   #2
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Rewards Points: 250
Default

relocating island


Quote:
Originally Posted by lantana View Post
moving island 4' and see that pvc thru slab is broken off inches below floor level with about 5" of romex sticking out; i've already made the trough to accept the new wiring and box for splice.
-do i need to jackhammer around the pvc and attach elbow or can i sleeve the armored over it going to the box for splice?
-i was told a 1" metal box is acceptable (has only the push clips) and to run the armored up to it and then silicone around the outside....is this good?
i will have tile installed over it and want to be sure that i'm doing the work correctly...thanks
You will need access to that junction box.

Advertisement

Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Gac66610 For This Useful Post:
lantana (09-25-2012)
Old 09-25-2012, 01:20 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

relocating island


hmmm...if i can't fish as its coming from under the slab and its right in the entrance (first tile) into the kitchen can you give me an idea? I'd hate to have a 2 x 4 silver metal box top visible upon entry into the kitchen....thanks
lantana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 01:31 PM   #4
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,241
Rewards Points: 2,392
Default

relocating island


Make a larger hole in the slab, you will probably have to go down to dirt. Pull the existing wire back out of the PVC conduit and extend the conduit with an 90 degree elbow to your new location. NM cable (unless it is UF) should not have been installed in that conduit. Replace it with individual THWN wires. Then you can fill the slab with concrete.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rjniles For This Useful Post:
lantana (09-25-2012)
Old 09-25-2012, 01:40 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Western PA
Posts: 203
Rewards Points: 150
Default

relocating island


Quote:
Originally Posted by lantana View Post
hmmm...if i can't fish as its coming from under the slab and its right in the entrance (first tile) into the kitchen can you give me an idea? I'd hate to have a 2 x 4 silver metal box top visible upon entry into the kitchen....thanks
If it's not in the traffic pattern, you could build a bookcase above the box location, make the bottom part of the bookcase a cabinet with a door (for access to the junction box) and then mount the j-box inside that bottom cabinet.
Dave632 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Dave632 For This Useful Post:
lantana (09-25-2012)
Old 09-25-2012, 02:34 PM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,047
Rewards Points: 2,892
Default

relocating island


A much better option would be to reroute the conduit and extend it to the new location so no junction box is needed.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 02:56 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Western PA
Posts: 203
Rewards Points: 150
Default

relocating island


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
A much better option would be to reroute the conduit and extend it to the new location so no junction box is needed.
Agreed, but I believe the OP wanted to avoid taking a jackhammer to the slab as much as possible.
Dave632 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 12:58 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

relocating island


Thanks Jim/Dave...
Actually that is exactly what I am trying to avoid as I know that I have tension wires in my slab and don't want to take even the smallest chanced of hitting one.

Have either of you gents used the splices that 3m makes that I read can be used for this scenario?

I'm a newbie now here but have visited this DIY site many times (just not had to post as most questions of mine were already discussed). Thanks for the advise.....regards
lantana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 09:51 PM   #9
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,047
Rewards Points: 2,892
Default

relocating island


Are you sure your slab is post tensioned or is it just mesh or rebar?

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP - kitchen island receptacle yogaf Electrical 6 02-15-2012 07:56 PM
Island sink drain problem oldphoneman Plumbing 2 02-06-2012 11:56 PM
Kitchen Island walkway inxs Carpentry 3 10-02-2010 08:14 PM
Island help wells1bj Interior Decorating 3 12-01-2009 04:54 PM
Sink or No Sink in Kitchen Island? Not Sure Plumbing 4 08-29-2006 08:37 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts